UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer silvaurus
Observer

How to make a design's frequency rigorous/aggressive?

Hi!

I'm kinda new to FPGA design. Previously the projects I was working on mostly just require it to be funtionally correct (at a fairly reasonable frequency). But now I'm actually facing the challege of making the design working on a frequency as high as possible.

The way I could think of first is changing the strategy under Project Manager -> Settings -> Synthesis -> Strategy to Flow_PerfOptimized_high, and Implementation -> Strategy to Performance_ExtraTimingOpt. Is that the right way of thinking?

Then I guess I probably need some more aggressive constraints for the design. It might sound funny but for the project I'm working on, currently I didn't give any constraints except for clock definition. I guess I can have input_delay and output_delay, other than that I'm not sure if there is anything more I can change.

Could you generously share some experience on performance optimization? Thank you so much!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Scholar richardhead
Scholar

Re: How to make a design's frequency rigorous/aggressive?

The most effective way of getting a faster design is change the source code - minimise logic between flops to no more than 1-2 luts max. This way you can keep the effort low for good results.

But why the effort to get a fast fmax? usually you're constrained in the design by existing clocks etc. Why the new focus on speed? usually you have a target frequency to hit...

0 Kudos

@silvaurus 

… facing the challege of making the design working on a frequency as high as possible.