Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
quark21
Visitor
Visitor

LVDS DDR ADC Interface at 437.5 MHz

Hello all,

I will preface my post by clearly stating that I'm a timing constraint novice in the truest sense. I'm attempting to interface an LVDS DDR ADC with a 7 series FPGA (Z-7030 with speed grade -1). The interface is currently operating without issue with a bit clock frequency of 280 MHz in 2-wire mode (see page 45 of the ADC datasheet linked above). I have inherited this project and have been tasked with attempting to operate the ADC at the maximum sampling rate of 125 MHz. This equates to a bit clock of 437.5 MHz. However, the interface fails at this frequency and no longer produces any valid data. I have realized that I need to apply new timing constraints to stand any hope of achieving the higher throughput. I have introduced the following constraints:

create_clock -period 2.285 -name adc_clk [get_ports adc_phy_dclk_p]

set_input_delay -clock adc_clk -max 1.865 [get_ports adc_phy_data*]

set_input_delay -clock adc_clk -clock_fall -max -add_delay 1.865 [get_ports adc_phy_data*]

set_input_delay -clock adc_clk -min 0.47 [get_ports adc_phy_data*]

set_input_delay -clock adc_clk -clock_fall -min -add_delay 0.47 [get_ports adc_phy_data*]

set_input_delay -clock adc_clk -max 1.865 [get_ports adc_phy_fclk*]

set_input_delay -clock adc_clk -clock_fall -max -add_delay 1.865 [get_ports adc_phy_fclk*]

set_input_delay -clock adc_clk -min 0.47 [get_ports adc_phy_fclk*]

set_input_delay -clock adc_clk -clock_fall -min -add_delay 0.47 [get_ports adc_phy_fclk*]

I have based my max and min times upon the setup and hold times given on page 18 of the ADC datasheet. The trace lengths of the clock and data lines on the PCB are length matched, so no additional skew should be introduced here. 

max was calculated as : bitclock_period/2 - setup time (0.42 ns)

min was calculated as: hold time (0.47 ns)