cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Limiting the possible paths

Hello,

I'm pretty new at this, and I'm not sure if this is the right section, so I appoligize if it doesn't fit here.

I have a design which looks like this:

vivadohelp.PNG

And the mux's are only activate in a way that the path is either: 

in -> circuit1 -> circuit2 -> out

in -> circuit2 -> circuit3 -> out

Is there a way to 'tell' this to vivado so that the timing and implementation will take this in to account when determining if I meet the timing constraints?

Kind regards,

Michael

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

M,

Look up how to use "set false path" constraints.

I will warn you that setting false paths can be tricky, and often not setting them at all results in a better place and route.

You could also pipeline the logic (add a register after each mux) which would allow it to go much faster without any fancy constraints.  Adding pipeline registers may affect the function of your design, as you may have to add registers somewhere else to synchronize the resulting outputs (pipelining changes functionality, so it must be done carefully and verified that it still works the way you intended).  Pipelining adds latency, but latency may not be a concern in your system.

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
Highlighted
Guide
Guide

I agree with @austin - the better solution is to find a way around having these complex combinatorial paths.

This kind of micro-architecting is usually not necessary.

When we design synchronous circuits using Register Transfer Languge (RTL), we define the registers explicitly, and the transfer functions between them behaviorally. We then let the tools convert the behavioral description of the transfer functions into gates. The tools attempt to do this while respecting our timing constraints - the most important of which is the clock period defined using the create_clock command.