Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Newbie problems with Xilinx Timing Constraints User Guide

Dear experts,

I am new to FPGA design, but my first schematic design seems to do what I want (at least, the behavioral simulation works as expected).

But now, I am fighting with understanding timing constraints as I am trying to work through the "Timing Constraints User Guide) from Xilinx (UG612 (v 11.1.1) April 29, 2009). Especially, I don't understand many things in page 50 of this book. I would be very grateful if somebody could look at figures 3-15 and 3-16 on this page and could help me out here.

At first, figure 3-16 (Hold violation waveform) must be wrong: In the 6th row (DATA_OUT at destination output FF), DATA_OUT changes from DATA0 to DATA1 when CLK raises at _SOURCE_ FF. I don't understand this since the input clock of the destination FF is skewed by 2ns against that of the source FF and the destination FF should change its output data only when its own clock raises (i.e. 2ns after CLK at the source FF raises).

Similarly, in the 5th row (DATA at destination input FF) DATA also changes from DATA0 to DATA1 with the raising CLK at the source FF. I don't understand this: When the clock at source FF raises, the data at source FF output changes, but according to figure 3-15, the change should need 1ns to arrive at the input of destination FF, an so there should be a delay of 1ns between the raising edge of CLK at source FF and the data change at input of destination FF.

Now some more important principal questions:

There is a formula on this page: "Hold Time = Clock Path Skew + Synchronous Element Hold Time - Data Path Delay". I think I have understood what the Clock Path Skew and the Data Path Delay are, but could someone explain what exactly the Hold Time (left side of the formula) and the Synchronous Element Hold Time (right side of the formula) are, perhaps by example of figure 3-15?