Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sttrue80
Visitor
Visitor

Post-Route Simulation

Hi friends,

I am new in this technology. Recently I wrote a program by VHDL whcih I don't have any problem in behavioral simulation and evrything is fine and the circuit output is as expected. but in post-route simulation,the output which is a 64 bit vector is set to X value.

Can you please give me some guidlines and maybe manuals to tell me what should i concern when i want to simulate in post-route section? actually i want to know what factors affect on post-route simulation rather than behavioral one?

Thanks.

sttrue80

0 Kudos
2 Replies
hobson
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi sttrue80,

As you probably know, post-route simulation is a gate level simulation in which (by default) worst-case timing values are applied to every element in the design.  What may have worked in behavioral simulation (ideal case) may not work in timing simulation.

My first suggestion is to remove the file containing the timing delays (often the SDF file) from the post-route simulation.  In effect, you will be performing a post-route, gate level  simulation without any timing information.  If the simulation begins to behave correctly, then you know the problem is purely a timing issue.  If it produces incorrect results, then you first need to go off and figure out the functional issue.

Once you've got any functional issues resolved, resimulate the design with the timing delay file added back in.  If you're still getting X's, then you know it's purely a timing issue.

Now, the most likely reason you're seeing X's in your simulation is that your design doesn't meet the timing constraints you've applied, or the set of timing constraints isn't complete.