UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Participant kwiatlab
Participant

Simple Offset IN question

Jump to solution

Hello,

I am working on building a system synchronous interface and am using Figure 2-2 on Page 15 of

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx14_7/ug612.pdf

for reference.

My data becomes valid 1.1ns after the transmit edge and stays valid for 1.4ns. Attached is a simple drawing of the situation.

timing.jpg

I have the time constraints below, and I just want to make sure they're right -- as I'm kind of new to this. All of the example has OFFSET IN BEFORE, so just making sure this is right.

NET "CLKINp" TNM_NET = "CLKINp";
TIMESPEC "TS_CLKINp" = PERIOD "CLKINp" 1.6 ns HIGH 50%;
OFFSET = IN 0.5 ns VALID 0.9 ns AFTER "CLKINp";

Thank you for all your time.

Michael

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Instructor
Instructor

Re: Simple Offset IN question

Jump to solution

@kwiatlab wrote:

Hmm, okay well thank you both for the replies.

Well I'm still slightly confused because although I think the clock before and clock after cases should be equivalent, the clock after case meets my timing while the clock before case does not. It turns out not to be that important for this particular design, but I am still curious as to why timing would fail if the constraints are equivalent.

The way you wrote the constraint is not equivalent to the way I wrote it.  For OFFSET IN AFTER, you need to use the clock to out delay rather than the input setup time.  The tools will then calculate the setup time using your period spec.  So in the case of your diagram it should look like:

OFFSET = IN 1.1 ns VALID 1.4 ns AFTER "CLKINp";