UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor pregache
Visitor
1,335 Views
Registered: ‎07-22-2014

Temperature used by STA

Jump to solution
Hello, i have set my projet with device xc7a35tfgg484-1.
The "select device" screen does not show a min/ref/max temperature.
The STA runs fast and slow corner cases. Question is: what are the min/max temperature assumptions (in the speed file) ?

Said otherwise, does this setting apply to commercial, industrial or other grade device ?

Thanks
Best regards
Pascal
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Moderator
1,558 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Re: Temperature used by STA

Jump to solution
You can refer to the below AR:
https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/38221.html

For Industrial device, the worst condition is -40 ~ 100 ℃;
For Commercial device, the worst condition is 0 ~ 85 ℃;

For the new device(Ultrascale or Ultrascale +) , you can select I or C for your device.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
8 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
1,292 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Re: Temperature used by STA

Jump to solution
It's expected that the temperature is not shown in the timing report.
The min/max temperature is defined in the spec of the device.

For Commercial device: 0 ~ 85 ℃;
For Industrial device: -40 ~ 100 ℃;
Speed grade shows how fast the device can run (with different speed files)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor pregache
Visitor
1,275 Views
Registered: ‎07-22-2014

Re: Temperature used by STA

Jump to solution
Hello. Yes I understand that.
The question is: is the device xc7a35tffg484-1 (in vivado select device menu) corresponding to a commercial or an industrial device ?
The select device screen does not show any temperature value and therefore the tool/speed file shall assume something.

Pascal
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,269 Views
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

Re: Temperature used by STA

Jump to solution
Hi Pascal,

You cannot select temperature. As Hong mentioned there is high and low temperature correspond to each FPGA grade.
Tools does the analysis over the PVT (4 process corner) analysis and report the worst case timing report.

Upto V5 there is possibility where user can control the Temperature and Voltage but with lather FPGA this feature was deprecated. Now user do not have any control to change the values to specific temperature and voltage.

If your design is meeting timing (0 violations) then it is expected to work seamlessly over the temperature and voltage range correspond to FPGA grade.

I hope this information will be helpful.

Thanks,
Yash
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,267 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Re: Temperature used by STA

Jump to solution
Assuming all the constraints are correctly set, the bit for xc7a35tffg484-1 without timing violation can work on BOTH commercial and industrial device.
That means in their own temp range, they can both work.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor pregache
Visitor
1,259 Views
Registered: ‎07-22-2014

Re: Temperature used by STA

Jump to solution

OK, thanks.

Is this mentionned somewhere in the tool or documentation (could not find anything) ?

Does it mean that the Vivado tool assumes the worst case condition (-40°C / 100 °C) ?

 

Pascal

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,559 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Re: Temperature used by STA

Jump to solution
You can refer to the below AR:
https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/38221.html

For Industrial device, the worst condition is -40 ~ 100 ℃;
For Commercial device, the worst condition is 0 ~ 85 ℃;

For the new device(Ultrascale or Ultrascale +) , you can select I or C for your device.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,240 Views
Registered: ‎05-14-2008

Re: Temperature used by STA

Jump to solution

Those Answer Record may be helpful to understand this:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/4235.html

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/2945.html

 

Those are for ISE Timing Analyzer tool. But Vivado is of the same theory.

 

-vivian

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
如果提供的信息能解决您的问题,请标记为“接受为解决方案”。
如果您认为帖子有帮助,请点击“奖励”。谢谢!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor pregache
Visitor
1,232 Views
Registered: ‎07-22-2014

Re: Temperature used by STA

Jump to solution

That clarifies all. Thanks.

 

0 Kudos