Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Abady
Contributor
Contributor

The effect of timing violations

Jump to solution

I made an IP that convert AXIS video into BT656 video in order to contact a DAC that generates analog video.

The IP works and I tried it multiple times. The problem is that after sometimes when I modify the HARDWARE design and generate new bitstream it doesn't work, even though data feed correctly to the IP ( I check some random samples using System ILA).

I used to make random changes and it work sometimes and others it doesn't, but I need to figure out the reason for this problem, so I started looking out for the reason, I found timing violation in WNS(-4.758) and TNS(-1426.577), could these violations cause such problem? and if yes how to deal with them?

I have zero experience in dealing with timing issue.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
dpaul24
Scholar
Scholar

@Abady ,

A design which fails timing is as good as a non working design. Begin here...

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation-navigation/design-hubs/dh0006-vivado-design-analysis-and-timing-closure-hub.html

------------FPGA enthusiast------------
Consider giving "Kudos" if you like my answer. Please mark my post "Accept as solution" if my answer has solved your problem
Asking for solutions to problems via PM will be ignored.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
dpaul24
Scholar
Scholar

@Abady ,

A design which fails timing is as good as a non working design. Begin here...

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation-navigation/design-hubs/dh0006-vivado-design-analysis-and-timing-closure-hub.html

------------FPGA enthusiast------------
Consider giving "Kudos" if you like my answer. Please mark my post "Accept as solution" if my answer has solved your problem
Asking for solutions to problems via PM will be ignored.

View solution in original post

dsheils

Hi @Abady