UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Contributor
Contributor

[Timing 38-282] The design failed to meet the timing requirements. setup violation

Jump to solution

This is my first time to ask a question here. Maybe im not good at describing my problem. 

I got a problem of setup violation. Actually I just created one IP called my_ip  that contain  two inputs and two outputs. The two of inputs are  totally independent , and they have one output respectively. 

S__11567136.jpg

ggg.PNG

the picture below is the problem i got

f1.PNG

gggg.PNG

Is there anyone know how to fix this problem?  should I  add someting like set_input_delay to this constraint to make the setup slack better?

I really need your help!! thank you!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Guide avrumw
Guide

Re: [Timing 38-282] The design failed to meet the timing requirements. setup violation

Jump to solution

Looking at the timing report, this is a "normal synchronous path" - the start and end flip-flop are on the same clock domain, and the requirement on the path is 20ns (so driven by a 50MHz clock). So this is not a clock domain crossing path...

The problem with this path is it is just too long - there is WAY too much combinatorial logic on the path - from the timing report there are 46 levels of logic, of which 33 are LUTs and the rest are MUXes; MUXes can be more or less free if they are tightly bound with the LUT - I can't tell from this report. So you have somewhere between 33 and 46 routes from LUT to LUT - there is no way the FPGA can do this in 20ns.