Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sweet12prof
Observer
Observer

Timing Constraints

Jump to solution

Hello!

I hope this finds whoever reads well! Before anything i'd like to say i'm new to HDLs, the design flow and the tools as well. As a result, I lack in generally most areas so please bear with me if i sound too "naive" . 

To the question, I've been able to get my design through the RTL stage, and i'm able to simulate at the vhdl level and it works fine. Moreover, i've decided to move through the next stages of the design flow to implement the design on an FPGA. For the past 10 days, i've explored the IDE proceeding through the other steps of the design flow(sort of just "try-outs"), and read a number of guides that teach the next steps, even reading a number of posts from on here. 

However, I stumbled upon timing analysis and definning timing constraints. I easily understood why they were needed but after proceeding to use the wizard to define them, i find i have little knowledge on how to evaluate the constraints themselves. Atm, i'm stuck at generated clocks, i've read and watched a lot of material concerning the subject but none seems to say how they evaluated the transformations into divides/multiplies and most importantly how they got the factors. Most of the examples were ripple counters btw and it was pretty straightforward in knowing what the next factor was. My circuit is larger and not made up of ripple counters. Atm i'm to define factors for 116 generated clocks, i naively followed the same principles from the ripple counter but fail the analysis every time. 

As a result i'd like to ask for some enlightment on the subject! How exactly are the factors calculated? and btw in the video guides i watched, they seemed to be able to tell through inspection idk if i'm right but some pointers will really put my curiosity and frustration at ease. A reliable resource on the subject is welcomed too.