UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor andy.watts
Visitor

Timing Failure - MCMM with multiple outputs

Hi,

I have been using ISE for a 7 series design no problem and am trying to upgrade to vivado and rewriting constraints etc.

I have a master input 40MHz clock going into a MCMM and and using output 0 to get 128MHz (0 allows none integer multiplication). The only other output is no 1 at 80MHz.

Clock domain crossing is done safely between the two clocks but I think timing is failing becase I need to tell the tools that the relationship between the clocks if not important.

In xdc file I used.....

create_clock -name mclk_1 -period 25.000 [get_ports mclk_1]

for the master input.

I tried all sorts to get the set_false_path command to work with no sucess.

What is the best way of doing this?

If I try to use get_clocks on the MCMM outputs I get a warining saying that the I need to use create_clock on the signals first. Using create clock looks to kind of work but then brings up other warinings.

I tried create_generated_clock but I couldnt use it for a none integer multiplier?

Any ideas.

0 Kudos
5 Replies

Re: Timing Failure - MCMM with multiple outputs

Hi,

I will recommend you to use asynchronous clock groups to avoid analysis.

Refer http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2014_4/ug903-vivado-using-constraints.pdf (Page # 69)

Thanks,

Yash

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Historian
Historian

Andy,