Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

data path slack across multiple clock domains [ZYNQ]

Jump to solution

I am using the Analog devices PL and their ZED system design where I have put in a block that can dump data into a 2D array set which then is clocked out of this 2D array on a new clocking domain.  There are many timing issues with their base system as it is without my interface block in the system as it is. 

I have tried several different strategies (implementation and synth) as well as changing how values are registered and assigned to get through timing slack issues. I've solved a fair number of them, however I am VERY new at timing closure and never really have done it before. 

I have the 2D array in my system to avoid using BRAMS as they are needed by other  part of the design. 

Is there any book or set of methods that are generally applied to solve issues with slack? 
The design also states critical errors that say no input delay and no output delay. Are these critical to the system calculating timing closure on slack? 
If so how do I calculate these?

I have attached my XDC file and the timing report.  If anyone can help or point out obvious errors the help is very much appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Guide
Guide

Re: data path slack across multiple clock domains [ZYNQ]

Jump to solution

My first question is that since I am using a few different clocking domains and transfering data between them all, I should set a max delay of roughly 10% less than the minimum of two clocking domain cells , right? Nearly all the data interchange happens via FIFO structures and the like.