cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
silverace99work
Adventurer
Adventurer

register control logic getting split across multiple blocks in synthesis + timing issue

Jump to solution

Hi, let me preface this by saying that I am new to synthesis....I'm sure I need to go take some courses on it but I'd appreciate what help or advice I can get in the immediate term.

In my design, I have a flop counter called "cycle_count". It is triggered by the signal "wr_en_prev". 'cycle_count' runs on a clock that is 6x what 'wr_en_prev' runs on. Both clocks are coming out of the same generic clock IP provided with Vivado.

I ended up with a timing violation in synthesis. The first thing I noticed in schematic is that one of the 'cycle_count' LUTs (see below image) got moved to the 'rx_buf' block even though in my code the counter is in the 'tx_buf' block, then routes back to the tx_buf block (path highlighted in blue). Is that normal? Seems odd to me.

htv_schem.jpg

Second, I ended up with a timing violation on this path. However I'm not sure how to interpret the report:
hold_time_violation.jpg

Under the "Path(ns)" columns I see a lot of negative values. What does that mean in relation to a positive value? I'm having trouble concluding what the report is telling me.

Thanks for your help!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
hemangd

Hi @silverace99work,

Yes, timing has been passed after implementation because router has done its job well. There may be hold violations while synthesis phase but router has resolve it.

Post-synthesis timing report cannot be relied on for timing closure analysis, as  accurate net delays are not available at post synthesis stage.As the hold time violation is very small, it will most probably get fixed during P&R .

Regards,

hemangd

- If your query has been answered and you are satisfied with it, you can close this thread by marking as accepted solution so community remains healthy.

Regards,
hemangd