UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor jscarlso
Visitor

Zynq UltraScale BUFGCE sub-optimal placement

I'm pretty new to working with FPGAs, so apologies if I seem clueless about anything.  Been reading through various datasheets and userguides and some other forum posts, but not sure what to do at this point.

I have a Zynq UltraScale xczu3eg-sfvc784-1-e, and am working with Vivado 2018.1.  Right now I have just a single custom IP block in the PL fabric, so there's really not much in there.  I have a clock signal that is coming in on pin AG14 of bank 24.  Per UG1075, this is an IO_L#P pin (and not IO_L#P_GC, which I think may be part of the problem).  When I get to the implementation stage, it errors out with:

ERROR: [Place 30-675] Sub-optimal placement for a global clock-capable IO pin and BUFG pair.If this sub optimal condition is acceptable for this design, you may use the CLOCK_DEDICATED_ROUTE constraint in the .xdc file to demote this message to a WARNING. However, the use of this override is highly discouraged. These examples can be used directly in the .xdc file to override this clock rule.
        < set_property CLOCK_DEDICATED_ROUTE FALSE [get_nets clk_osc_drv_0_IBUF_inst/O] >

clk_osc_drv_0_IBUF_inst/IBUFCTRL_INST (IBUFCTRL.O) is locked to IOB_X0Y2
        clk_osc_drv_0_IBUF_BUFG_inst (BUFGCE.I) is provisionally placed by clockplacer on BUFGCE_HDIO_X0Y4

The above error could possibly be related to other connected instances. Following is a list of
        all the related clock rules and their respective instances.

Clock Rule: rule_bufgce_bufg_conflict