Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
abyssion
Observer
Observer

Correction of HDL using post synthesis timing report

Jump to solution

Dear community,

First I would like to apologize in advance if my question has already been asked, I couldn't find my answer. I also would like to apologize if the matter is trivial, I am still learning!

---- Context ----

As written in the title, I am hard time to understand the timing report and to modify the HDL to meet the timing requirement after synthesis. I am aware that the timing report of the synthesis part is only an estimation. However, the synthesis takes 2h to run when implementation needs more than 12h (depending on the implementation strategy) and gives a large timing violation. I would like to reduce the timing issues at the synthesis level before going to the implementation part. Does it make sens?

The problem is, even after reading many documents and watching some Xilinx videos I am still not able to understand how to correct the timing issues from the information that are given by the timing report of Vivado. I tried to apply the recommendation of the Xilinx documents (see sources) for clocking, pipelining, CDC, constraints etc but I am still not able to understand. I cannot share the whole design, but I will show an example that represent most of my timing issues (this circuit is reproduced 1008 times using generate notation of VHDL language).

---- Example ----

VHDL

-- clk_xi is a Clock at 300MHz provided by a BUGCE_DIV
Xi_Output : process(clk_xi) 
	Variable Xireg0 	: signed(INT+DEC downto 0);
begin
	if rising_edge(clk_xi) then		
                -- Signal Pm2 from a DSP
		Xireg	<= shift_right(Pm2, 5); 
                -- Xiprev_reg is a pipelined value, attribute shreg_extract: false
		Xireg0 	:= Xiprev_reg(8) & "000000"; 
                -- Addition using Carry8
		Xireg1 	<= Xireg(INT+2*12 downto (2*12)-DEC) + Xireg0;
                -- Output and conversion from signed to std_logic