UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer

Phase Matched Clocks in UltraScale

I need to create 2 programable rate clocks that always have a fixed ratio of 2:1 and are phase matched. Ie suppose I have a 100 MHz master clock, I need to create a pair of phase matched clocks at either: (100,50), (50,25), (25,12.5) MHz.

In Virtex-4 I did this with a Phase Matched Clock Divider (PMCD) primitive but there is no equivilent in UltraScale. I could use a DCM/MCMM and use the DRP port, but that seems a bit overkill.

Is there an alternative method?

BTW, I cannot run the half rate clock at full rate and use a synchronous div2 enable because I'm interfacing to a "black box" core.

0 Kudos
3 Replies

Re: Phase Matched Clocks in UltraScale

Hi @cbemlahe 

BTW, I cannot run the half rate clock at full rate and use a synchronous div2 enable because I'm interfacing to a "black box" core

-> Does it mean that you dont want to use the BUGGCE_DIV (General Clock Buffer with Divide Function).

BUFGCE_DIV is a general clock buffer with an enable and divide function and can be use to divide the clock by  1 (Bypass) , 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 .

Consider you want a pair of (100,50)  then clocking connection should be

100 MHZ (master clock)  ->  BUFGCE_DIV  (BUFGCE_DIVIDE = 1)   -> 100 Mhz clock output

->  BUFGCE_DIV  (BUFGCE_DIVIDE = 2)   ->  50 Mhz clock output.

Primitive instatiation is in UG974 page 220

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2019_1/ug974-vivado-ultrascale-libraries.pdf

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------