cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,244 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

hi, I am currently using ZCU 106 development board for video display. At present, there is no problem with the display of DP interface. Now I want to use DP TO HDMI adapter to display  HDMI, but I have used two kinds of adapters but HDMI has no signal. include active adapters and inactive.  

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Mentor
Mentor
2,213 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

First of all, generally, you must use the following adapter to succeed.

 

- Passive adapter

  - Use HDMI protocol. But signal level is DP.

  - It is called by "DP++". Need capability DP and HDMI on DP Source.

- Active adapter

  - Use DP protocol. Signal level is DP.

  - Need protocol converter IC.

 

In this case (use native DP port on MPSoC), you must use active adapter.

 

Could you share product name and/or part number ?

I will reply it , if I understand or know the product.

 

Best regards,

View solution in original post

20 Replies
Highlighted
Mentor
Mentor
2,214 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

First of all, generally, you must use the following adapter to succeed.

 

- Passive adapter

  - Use HDMI protocol. But signal level is DP.

  - It is called by "DP++". Need capability DP and HDMI on DP Source.

- Active adapter

  - Use DP protocol. Signal level is DP.

  - Need protocol converter IC.

 

In this case (use native DP port on MPSoC), you must use active adapter.

 

Could you share product name and/or part number ?

I will reply it , if I understand or know the product.

 

Best regards,

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,195 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution
at beginning ,I bought a passive adapter, but it did not work,then I bought an active adapter,but not work at all.The ACTIVE adapter name is UGREEN,DP to hdmi, part number is 13285595194. I bought it at https://item.jd.com/13285595194.html.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Mentor
Mentor
2,165 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

I'd like to confirm whether your environment is fine or not.

So, could you tell me the following question ?

 

- Source display device. (Product name and support maximum resolution)

- Output resolution and video timing on MPSoC.

 

 

Best regards,

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,151 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution
Hi,@watari
-Source display device: PHILIPS 40PFF5021/T3 ,max resolution is 1920*1080P, 60Hz.
--Output resolution : 1920*1080
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Mentor
Mentor
2,144 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

I suspect that your adapter is passive adapter.

Here is reason.

 

- Your adapter price is cheaper. If it was active adapter, the price is at least more expensive.

- Your target resolution is suitable for DP 1.2a.

 

However, if your adapter is active adapter, I recommend that you make sure the following.

 

- Does your design have HDCP key ?

  - If you can prepare PC monitor, you can ignore it.

- Link status of DP

  - I forget it. But you can make sure these status by reading status register.

- How do you output video data on MPSoC ? Also, what kind of format do you output ? (YUV444 or RGB888 or other)

 

Would you try them ?

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,137 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution
Hi,@watari
1.The source display device can not have problem.I can display other HDMI sources on it.
2.If I just only using DP interface to display the source from the zcu106 borad, there are no problems . So, the DP link status should be OK,I think.
3.do you have other active adapters to be recommended?
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Mentor
Mentor
2,116 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

> 3.do you have other active adapters to be recommended?

 

I don't know it.

However I know the feature of it. (How to confirm whether it is active adapter or not.)

 

Generally, active adapter and passive adapter have the following feature.

 

- Active adapter

  - It has converter IC. It has a little PCB on converter cable (box).

- Passive adapter

  - The price is cheap.

  - It has only retimer IC (ex. SN75DP149).

  - This figure is wire cable. Don't have any PCB on it.

 

Of cause, it may have different thing. But almost all are followed this feature.

 

Best regards,

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
2,036 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

HI @zengzxxilinx,

 

Do you have any updates on this topic? Were the replies from @watari enough for you?

If your question is answered or your issue is solved, please mark the response which helped as solution (click on the button "Accept as solution" below the reply)

If this is not solved/answered, please reply in the topic giving more information on your current status.

Best Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,004 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution
Hi,@ florentw , My question is not solved yet. I bought a new adapter that recommended by other communicators.I do not make test yet. I need to finish the test before closing this topic.Thank you
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,845 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi,@watari.  I have bought two active adapters that recommended by other communicators. I connected to my zcu106 board DP interface, another side connected  to monitor with a HDMI male-male line, but  there still no signal .I  do not know what the problem is .can you give me some advises?   IMG_20180917_130739.jpg

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Mentor
Mentor
1,831 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

I already confirmed CAC-1070.  I'm probably sure that this adaptive adapter would be fine.

However you could not resolve it.

Therefore, I'd like to ask you the followings question to resolve your issue.

Would you tell me your answer ?

 

- Would you tell me your monitor name ?

- How to output video signal on ZCU106 ? Use linux ? If you use trd, would you show me url ?

- Can you output VGA signal (640x480@60Hz/VESA) and/or 720p(CEA) via DP Tx ?

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,808 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi, @watari ,sorry to reply late.
1. my monitor is PHILIPS 40PFF5021/T3 ,max resolution is 1920*1080P, 60Hz.

2.  firstly ,I just using DP to display my source, it shows fine. I using  linux ,referenced

the project "xilinx-zcu106-2018.1" from XILINX. It shows like the following pictures.

3. Can you output VGA signal (640x480@60Hz/VESA) and/or 720p(CEA) via DP Tx ?

----- I did not have the DP to VGA adapters, so did not output with that way.

微信图片_20180920105912.jpg

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
1,788 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

HI @zengzxxilinx,

 


@zengzxxilinx wrote:

3. Can you output VGA signal (640x480@60Hz/VESA) and/or 720p(CEA) via DP Tx ?



> Yes you can if the monitor supports it. You basically can do any resolution supported by the monitor as long as it is max 4K@30


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Mentor
Mentor
1,760 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

Sorry for my late reply.

 

>3. Can you output VGA signal (640x480@60Hz/VESA) and/or 720p(CEA) via DP Tx ?

>----- I did not have the DP to VGA adapters, so did not output with that way.

 

I'm not sure. But if you use linux with X Window, would you execute the following command ?

Also, could you show me the result ?

Of cause you need to change device name from DP-0 (myu environment) to ex. DP1, HDMI1 and so on.

 

1. Confirm supported resolution (my environment/use analog RGB)

$ sudo xrandr

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1600 x 1200, maximum 16384 x 16384
DP-0 connected primary 1600x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 408mm x 306mm
   1600x1200     60.00*+
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02
   1280x960      75.00    60.00
   1152x864      75.00
   1024x768      85.00    75.03    70.07    60.00
   800x600       85.06    75.00    72.19    60.32    56.25
   640x480       85.01    75.00    72.81    59.94
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-4 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-5 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

 

2. Change resolution

$ sudo xrandr --output DP-0 --mode 640x480

$ sudo xrandr --output DP-0 --mode 1280x720

 

Best regards,

Highlighted
Mentor
Mentor
1,740 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

I add some sugestion.

 

1. Execute the following commands.

 

$ sudo xrandr --output DP-0 --mode 640x480

$ sudo xrandr --output DP-0 --mode 1280x720

 

1-1. The result is fine. So, your TV doesn't support external 1080p or video timing is not followed CEA video timing.

 

1-2. The result is wrong. It migh be signal issue or compatibility issue.

 

If you'd like to resolve this issue, I suggest to use LCD monitor with Display Port or HDMI port.

TV monitor might support external input video signal. However, it has some compatibility issue.

 

Best regards,

 

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
1,657 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx,

 

Do you have any updates on this? Were the replies from @watari enough for you?

 

If your question is answered or your issue is solved, please kindly mark the response which helped as solution (click on "Accept as solution" button below the reply)

If this is not solved/answered, please reply in the topic giving more information on your current status.

Thanks and Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
509 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2019

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hello, do you have solved the question?

I have the same question as you. The DP-HDMI adapter buy from UGREEN doesn't work on ZCU102 board.

Can you tell me more about how you solved it?

 

Thank you!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
505 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

HI @wei_lan 

As per AR#71774, users are responsible to make caracterized their adaptor to make sure it will work.

Note that only active adaptors could work. Passive adaptors will not work as the Displayport controller does not support DP++


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
496 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2019

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Thank you.

Do you have any DP-HDMI apdapter which have been tested by users recommended?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
484 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

No I do not. And Xilinx will not do any recommendation on this


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos