cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
skaat27
Adventurer
Adventurer
847 Views
Registered: ‎08-28-2017

DisplayPort Rx Subsystem

Jump to solution

Hi,

I am working with the Displayport Rx subsystem 1.4 IP block and it looks like the IP is a hierarchical block that contains the display port controller. I would like to instantiate the controller itself and not the subsystem. THe DP controller IP says that its hidden. Is there any way to access the IP and instantiate it standalone?

Appreciate your help.

 

Regards,

SKa

 

 

dp.PNG
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
skaat27
Adventurer
Adventurer
677 Views
Registered: ‎08-28-2017

@aoifem Nope. I don't think this can be done. There is no way to use the IP blocks inside the DPRxSS, as standalone IPs.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
florentw
Moderator
Moderator
782 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @skaat27 

A subsystem is a "sub-block design" which will change depending on the configuration of the IP. You can have less IPs under it.

For example, if you select Native interface, the Video Bridge will not be present.

But to answer the question, no it is not possible to use only the controller because some sub-IPs are required.

For example, the Xilinx Displayport RX solution expects the use of a retimer (megachip) and this retimer has to be programmed using IIC. So there is a reason why it is here.

Regards


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
skaat27
Adventurer
Adventurer
760 Views
Registered: ‎08-28-2017

@florentw 

Thanks for the reply. So let me explain my situation a little bit. I basically want to expand the hierarchy of the Rx subsytem block (Which i was not able to). The reason why i asked if i can use just the controller is that, since i wasnt able to exapnd the hierarchy, i wanted to create the subsystem with the same components but not as a hierachical block. I hope you understand what i am trying to say. 

To put it simple, i want to expand the hierarchy of the Rx subsystem.

0 Kudos
watari
Professor
Professor
745 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @skaat27 

 

What kind of module do you get ?

Giga bit transmitter ? Deskew controller ? Remapper ? and so on.

 

However, I strongly believe there are a lot of know-how. So that, IP vendor strongly want to hide this feeling from a couple of exceptions.

 

Hence, user can only choose output signal type from stream type/native video type.

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos
florentw
Moderator
Moderator
729 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

HI @skaat27 

I am not sure what you mean by expend the hierachy? What are you trying to do? What is you end goal?


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
aoifem
Moderator
Moderator
690 Views
Registered: ‎11-21-2018

Hi @skaat27 

Do you have any update on this?

Regards,

Aoife
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA


**~ Got a minute? Answer our Vitis HLS survey here! ~**

**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
skaat27
Adventurer
Adventurer
678 Views
Registered: ‎08-28-2017

@aoifem Nope. I don't think this can be done. There is no way to use the IP blocks inside the DPRxSS, as standalone IPs.

View solution in original post