cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kackman-49_.
Newbie
Newbie
1,096 Views
Registered: ‎01-28-2020

Fpga video scaler

Hey guys i am looking for a solution to upscale 320x240 resolution by factor of 10 to 3200x2400 which fpga will be capable of doing that and is there any ip for that 

thanks

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
u4223374
Advisor
Advisor
1,087 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

I think pretty much any FPGA could do that. Video upscaling is not exactly difficult. What input/output format are you expecting? It's quite likely that (for example) HDMI input/output will occupy more FPGA space than the video scaling itself.

 

The Xilinx Multi-Scaler IP core looks like it'll do what you need, and it's free with Vivado - so you really can't complain.

 

The only limitation, of course, is that there's not a whole lot of data in a 320x240 video. Upscaling it 10x is likely to look pretty nasty.

kackman-49_.
Newbie
Newbie
1,074 Views
Registered: ‎01-28-2020

Actually what i want to do is upscale resolution of old video game console to 4k tv they output in 320x240 , 640x480 resolution fir input i want to use rgb analog input i want a cost effective fpga solution for this 

0 Kudos
watari
Teacher
Teacher
1,013 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @kackman-49_. 

 

>Hey guys i am looking for a solution to upscale 320x240 resolution by factor of 10 to 3200x2400 which fpga will be capable of doing that and is there any ip for that 

 

Yes. FPGA has a capability.

But I suggest you to consider aspect ratio for your product.

An aspect ratio is different between old games and 4K tv.

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos
florentw
Moderator
Moderator
975 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @kackman-49_. 

The question should really be what is your use case?

Any FPGA will be able to do the scaling. Even an old windows 95 could do it on the paper.

So question you need to answer are:

  • Does it needs to be done in a certain amount of time?
  • Is it a real time video?
  • What will the 4k output be used for? Do you need connectivity like HDMI/Displayport...

And of course, scaling with a factor 10 will not give a great quality on the output as mentioned by @u4223374 


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
u4223374
Advisor
Advisor
957 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

If you're just upscaling because a new TV cannot even understand a 320x240 input (which is possible) - I'd advise you to look at just going to 640x480 instead (and letting the TV's built-in scaling take it from there). 640x480 is VGA standard, and pretty much anything will happily handle that. The biggest challenge with going to 3200x2400 is just going to be getting data out of the FPGA since driving a video DAC at 461MHz (3200*2400*60Hz) will be challenging. At 640x480 it'll be 18.432MHz, which is easy.

 

 

If the aim is to get better image quality, you'll do far better by emulating the console on a PC (320x240 sounds like a first-gen 3D console, so a PS1, Sega Saturn, or N64 - all of which are easy to emulate). That allows you to render the game at a much higher resolution and keep the signal digital all the way to the monitor. For many popular games there are community-produced texture packs available that take advantage of the extra processing power to give further image quality improvement.

 

 

kackman-49_.
Newbie
Newbie
939 Views
Registered: ‎01-28-2020

I want to use fpga for upscaling 320x240 to 3200x2400 in real time so it has less input lag and directly give input to 4k tv hdmi port  iwant to know which fpga will be best for the job and what are the licensing cost f hdmi 2.0

0 Kudos
u4223374
Advisor
Advisor
929 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

I'd probably use a Zynq XCZU3EG, because for this you are going to want significant speed - possibly more than a Zynq 7010 or 7020 can manage. The XCZU3EG has a DisplayPort controller built-in, which might do the job, or you can add HDMI separately.

 

For video input, Analog Devices is probably your best bet. Something like the ADV7282A would do nicely (assuming this is a composite, S-video, or component input - if you've got an RF input then it'll be more complex).

0 Kudos
watari
Teacher
Teacher
894 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @kackman-49_. 

 

I suggest you to implement HDMI Tx, not use built-in DP Tx which has a limitation (maximum is 4K@30Hz), if you want to achive 4K@60Hz with XCZU3EG.

 

Also, I already mentioned before, you must consider aspect ratio, overscan and so on.

 

If you try upscaling from 320x240 to 3200x2400 (x10 upscaling), you have to consider how to dispose of out of screen.

Because of 4K = 3840x2160 or 4096x2160 (DCI).

 

Hope it helps.

0 Kudos