cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,952 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi all,

I'm trying to get the HDMI up and running on the ZCU106. I am not concerned with the RX, only the TX (output). My objective is to get a software test pattern running to my display using GStreamer. 

I am using the pre-built example from the wiki (https://xilinx-wiki.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/A/pages/18842136/Xilinx+DRM+KMS+HDMI-Tx+Driver). So no custom software/firmware.

My issue is similar to the following post (https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Video/ZCU106-HDMI-DP/m-p/892532#M21862), but the individual did not actually post a solution. Only that he "fixed it".

Here is my kernel startup:

[ 10.232884] udevd[1900]: starting version 3.2.2
[ 10.242437] udevd[1901]: starting eudev-3.2.2
[ 10.291904] xilinx_vphy: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
[ 10.291906] xilinx_vphy: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
[ 10.293839] xilinx-vphy a0060000.vid_phy_controller: probed
[ 10.320363] dp159 2-005e: probed
[ 10.320510] VPhy version : 02.02 (0000)
[ 10.320605] xilinx-vphy a0060000.vid_phy_controller: probe successful
[ 10.321116] xilinx-vcu a0140000.vcu: failed to set logicoreIP refclk rate
[ 10.321676] xilinx-vcu a0140000.vcu: xvcu_probe: Probed successfully
[ 10.323795] xilinx-hdmi-rx a0000000.hdmi_rx_ss: probed
[ 10.323949] xvphy_phy_init(ffffffc8656ac400).
[ 10.323976] xvphy_phy_init(ffffffc86551d800).
[ 10.324010] xvphy_phy_init(ffffffc86551d400).
[ 10.324568] xilinx-hdmi-rx a0000000.hdmi_rx_ss: Direct firmware load for xilinx/xilinx-hdmi-rx-edid.bin failed with error -2
[ 10.324573] xilinx-hdmi-rx a0000000.hdmi_rx_ss: Using Xilinx built-in EDID.
[ 10.324647] 
[ 10.324647] Successfully loaded edid.
[ 10.324661] xilinx-video amba:vcap_hdmi_1: Entity type for entity a0000000.hdmi_rx_ss was not initialized!
[ 10.324943] xilinx-hdmi-rx a0000000.hdmi_rx_ss: probe successful
[ 10.325011] xlnx-drm-hdmi a0020000.v_hdmi_tx_ss: probed
[ 10.325175] xlnx-drm-hdmi a0020000.v_hdmi_tx_ss: tx-clk not ready -EPROBE_DEFER
[ 10.424297] dp159 2-005e: probe successful
[ 10.428594] si5324 2-0068: si5319 probed
[ 10.428868] xlnx-drm-hdmi a0020000.v_hdmi_tx_ss: probed
[ 10.429081] xlnx-drm-hdmi a0020000.v_hdmi_tx_ss: tx-clk not ready -EPROBE_DEFER
[ 10.502036] si5324 2-0068: si5319 probe successful
[ 10.507022] si5324 12-0069: si5328 probed
[ 10.512532] xlnx-drm-hdmi a0020000.v_hdmi_tx_ss: probed
[ 10.520523] xlnx-drm-hdmi a0020000.v_hdmi_tx_ss: probe successful
[ 10.531972] [drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 2 (21.10.2013).
[ 10.538559] [drm] No driver support for vblank timestamp query.
[ 10.544691] xlnx-drm xlnx-drm.0: bound a0070000.v_mix (ops 0xffffff8008af10f8)
[ 10.551904] xlnx-drm xlnx-drm.0: bound a0020000.v_hdmi_tx_ss (ops xlnx_drm_hdmi_driver_exit [xilinx_hdmi_tx])
[ 10.604616] si5324 12-0069: si5328 probe successful
[ 10.612369] [drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes
[ 10.683864] al5e a0100000.al5e: l2 prefetch size:10526720 (bits), l2 color bitdepth:8
[ 10.691821] al5d a0120000.al5d: l2 prefetch size:10526720 (bits), l2 color bitdepth:8
[ 10.889750] EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p3): recovery complete
[ 10.889759] EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p3): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[ 10.921376] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 480x135
[ 10.991563] EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p4): recovery complete
[ 10.991572] EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p4): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[ 11.001983] EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p2): recovery complete
[ 11.001992] EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p2): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[ 11.085121] xlnx-mixer a0070000.v_mix: fb0: frame buffer device
[ 11.112602] [drm] Initialized xlnx 1.0.0 20130509 for a0070000.v_mix on minor 1
Starting internet superserver: inetd.

According to modetest logs (attached), the HDMI is on connector ID 39, crtc 37, DPMS is on, and link status is good. I am using a known working HDMI cable (no adapters) connected to a known working ASUS monitor. Attempting to use modetest to manually configure the display fails as follows:

# modetest -M xlnx -s 39@37:1920x1080@YUYV
failed to find mode "1920x1080" for connector 39
failed to create dumb buffer: Invalid argument

Attempting to run my GStreamer pipeline fails as follows. My display simply flashes between blue (no signal) and black (assuming connected status).

# gst-launch-1.0 videotestsrc ! videoconvert ! fpsdisplaysink name=fpssink text-overlay=false video-sink="kmssink bus-id="a0070000.v_mix" fullscreen-overlay=1"
Setting pipeline to PAUSED ...
Pipeline is PREROLLING ...
[12264.172158] [drm:drm_atomic_helper_commit_cleanup_done] *ERROR* [CRTC:37:crtc-0] flip_done timed out
ERROR: from element /GstPipeline:pipeline0/GstFPSDisplaySink:fpssink/GstKMSSink:kmssink0: GStreamer error: negotiation problem.
Additional debug info:
../../../git/sys/kms/gstkmssink.c(1217): gst_kms_sink_set_caps (): /GstPipeline:pipeline0/GstFPSDisplaySink:fpssink/GstKMSSink:kmssink0:
failed to configure video mode
ERROR: pipeline doesn't want to preroll.
Setting pipeline to NULL ...
^C
[12274.412154] [drm:drm_atomic_helper_commit_cleanup_done] *ERROR* [CRTC:37:crtc-0] flip_done timed out
[12284.652208] [drm:drm_atomic_helper_commit_cleanup_done] *ERROR* [CRTC:37:crtc-0] flip_done timed out

Ideas? I did not anticipate having such trouble getting a pre-built demo up and running on a reference design...

Thanks

 

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,672 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

 

 

Hi @njozwiak 

I couldn't find the exact same video, so I used bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal.mp4 with following command :

 modetest -D a0070000.v_mix -s 39:3840x2160-30@AR24 -w 35 :"alpha":0 &

gst-launch-1.0 uridecodebin uri="file:///media/card/4kvideo/bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal.mp4" ! queue max-size-bytes=0 ! kmssink bus-id="a0070000.v_mix"

I could see the video on my HDMI Sink :

4kp30_terminal.JPG

IMG_2939.JPG

 

View solution in original post

14 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,824 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi @njozwiak 

If you only want to display HDMI on ZCU106, please use the design from https://xilinx-wiki.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/A/pages/55672840/Zynq+UltraScale+MPSoC+VCU+TRD+2018.3+-+HDMI+Video+Display

Please note HDMI Connector can be different, depends on different design, please use following steps, and try to figure out the correct HDMI Connector ID and use correct modetest command :

Step 1 : figure out the v_mix address. From your log file, you have a0070000.v_mix 

Step 2: use command below and try to get the HDMI Connect ID :

modetest -D a0070000.v_mix

Step 3: Base on the Connect ID for HDMI-A-1 (not TMDS), set up HDMI TX resolution using command below :

modetest -D a0070000.v_mix -s 36:1920x1080-60@AR24 &

Note : in this command, 36 is Connector ID for HDMI-A-1, you need to change it based on Step 2 result.

& is very important. If you miss it, you can't set it correct.

Step 4 : You can confirm if HDMI TX is set proper by using following command :

cat /sys/devices/platform/amba/a0020000.v_hdmi_tx_ss/hdmi_info

Note : the path might be different based on your design.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,800 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi @xud 

Thanks for the reply. As you instructed, I pulled the VCU TRD 2018.3 and am running on the pre-built binaries from the images/vcuhdmitx/ directory. So, again, no custom work here. Everything I am doing is built/published by Xilinx.

I have attached a full log from running the steps as you instructed. But when I run GStreamer, I still fail with the same error.

root@zcu106_vcu_trd:~# modetest -D a0070000.v_mix -s 36:1920x1080-60@AR24 &
root@zcu106_vcu_trd:~# cat /sys/devices/platform/amba_pl@0/a0020000.v_hdmi_tx_ss/hdmi_info 

  Stream Info
 -------------
        Color Format:     RGB
        Color Depth:      8
        Pixels Per Clock: 2
        Mode:             Progressive
        Frame Rate:       60Hz
        Resolution:       1920x1080 [Custom Mode]
        Pixel Clock:      148500000

  Stream Timing
 ----------------

        HSYNC Timing: hav=1920, hfp=88, hsw=44(hsp=0), hbp=148, htot=2200 
        VSYNC Timing: vav=1080, vfp=04, vsw=05(vsp=0), vbp=036, vtot=1125


Tx Info
--------
TX Mode - HDMI 
HDMI Video Mask is Disabled

Scrambled: 0
Sample rate: 1
Audio channels: 0

root@zcu106_vcu_trd:~# gst-launch-1.0 videotestsrc ! videoconvert ! fpsdisplaysink name=fpssink text-over
lay=false video-sink="kmssink bus-id="a0070000.v_mix" fullscreen-overlay=1"
Setting pipeline to PAUSED ...
Pipeline is PREROLLING ...
ERROR: from element /GstPipeline:pipeline0/GstFPSDisplaySink:fpssink/GstKMSSink:kmssink0: GStreamer error
: negotiation problem.
Additional debug info:
../../../git/sys/kms/gstkmssink.c(1363): gst_kms_sink_set_caps (): /GstPipeline:pipeline0/GstFPSDisplaySi
nk:fpssink/GstKMSSink:kmssink0:
failed to configure video mode
ERROR: pipeline doesn't want to preroll.
Setting pipeline to NULL ...
Freeing pipeline ...
root@zcu106_vcu_trd:~# 

I tried running the vcu_gst_app as specified with the link to the wiki you provided, but the config files are not helpful in this. They appear to be setup for UDP streaming or referencing some strange file "file:///media/usb/test_1.ts" that does not exist in the pre-built filesystem. The instructions are incomplete.

How do I run GStreamer pipeline with a TPG to output to HDMI? Right now I am simply looking at a blue screen.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,794 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi @njozwiak 

If you see the blue screen, it means HDMI TX is configured properly.

For vcu_hdmitx, it only supports following Sources, TPG isn't supported, so you can't do it.

Sources:

  • File source (SD card, USB storage, SATA hard disk).
  • Stream-In from network or internet.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,790 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi @xud 

If the blue screen means it's configured, great. But how do I get data out to it? The wiki is referencing using this vcu_gst_app, but instructions are incomplete:

1. The /media/card/config/Display/input.cfg is attempting to load a file that does not exist: “file:///media/usb/test_1.ts” – and there are no instructions for how to create this file.

2. The /media/card/config/Stream/input.cfg is attempting to setup a UDP connection to a remote system for receiving packets, but there are no instructions for how to setup this remote system.

I pulled a Xilinx test video file per a recommendation and copied it to my SD card:

$ wget petalinux.xilinx.com/sswreleases/video-files/bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal_hevc.mkv
$ cp bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal_hevc.mkv /media/njozwiak/boot/test_1.ts

I then I booted the ZCU106, created the /media/usb/ directory, copied the test_1.ts file there, and ran vcu_gst_app according to the wiki 

I have attached a full boot and run log to the email, but here is the error:

root@zcu106_vcu_trd:~# cd /media/
root@zcu106_vcu_trd:/media# mkdir usb
root@zcu106_vcu_trd:/media# cp card/test_1.ts usb/   
root@zcu106_vcu_trd:/media# cd card/bin/
root@zcu106_vcu_trd:/media/card/bin# ./vcu_gst_app /media/card/config/Display/input.cfg 
ERROR: vgst_init() failed error code -74 :: "VLIB No media source Available"
Get "VLIB No media source Available" error in Tx only design, can be ignored!!!
/*************************Pipeline Information Start*************************/
Pipeline Info : On
Fps Info : On
APM Info : On
Output goes on : HDMI
Frame rate : 60
Number of Source is : 1
Use case is to : Display
Device Type : TPG
Format : NV12
Width : 3840
Height : 2160
Raw : False
Src Type : File Src
URI : file:///media/usb/test_1.ts
/*************************Pipeline Information End*************************/
Encoder Memory Bandwidth (0.00 Gbps)
Decoder Memory Bandwidth (0.05 Gbps)
Pipeline [1] Fps[0]
Encoder Memory Bandwidth (0.00 Gbps)
Decoder Memory Bandwidth (0.60 Gbps)
Pipeline [1] Fps[0]
[   77.021911] random: crng init done
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
^CHit Ctrl-C
Quitting the app now
Quitting the loop 
playback count 1
pipeline stopped successfully 
root@zcu106_vcu_trd:/media/card/bin# 

Thanks,
Nathan

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,763 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

 @njozwiak 

Hi Nathan,

I couldn't find test_1.ts file either. Let me check with VCU team, and then get back to you.

But from the log file, I notice the EDID data of your HDMI Sink are all zero. If you have connected TX cable, can you let me konw which sink you are using?

Xu

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,747 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi @xud 

After I didn't get a response to this thread in a couple of days I opened and SR and have been working with Kunal and Rohit. No resolution yet, but I will keep this thread updated when I do.

Turns out, the wiki is a little incomplete in terms of instructions. Most the time that mkv I referenced pulling is what's used for testing. So I updated the Display/input.cfg to that, but still see the same errors from vcu_gst_app on the ZCU106.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,742 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

@ 

I have confirmed the file:///media/sata/abc.ts is an example uri.

You have to change as per your file name and location.

For an example you are doing a record and dumping in sata with abc.ts name then modify the uri for recorded file playback like file:///media/sata/abc.ts.

I will need to find a video file, do some tests and then get back to you.

Are you willing to test with other prebuilt image, which has HDMI Receiver so you can receive the data through HDMI RX?

Can you PM SR number please? I will discuss with Kunal and Rohit to close the loop.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,730 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi @xud 

I will PM you the SR number.

The /media/sata/abc.ts file does not exist on my ZCU106. I do not have a SATA drive attached.

Attached is an updated run log. Rohit requested I modify the /media/card/configs/Display/input.cfg file. I see no change in behavior. Still errors from vcu_gst_app and my monitor is solid blue.

If you are testing with a video file, Kunal pointed me to the bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal_hevc.mkv file I referenced above. So if you are going to test with something, that would be a good one to use. It would be nice to confirm it fails on your end as well.

To be honest, I would rather not run a test with HDMI RX. I would like to stick to the HDMI TX pre-built VCU TRD binaries. We have a custom board that I need to get HDMI TX running on... our board does not have HDMI RX. Before I even attempt to get HDMI running on our custom board though, I need to know how to get it running on the ZCU106 as a point of reference. 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,723 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

@njozwiak 

I could reproduce the error related to missing test_1.ts.

It's just an example showing you how to add url to config file, ts file isn't physically contained.

I want to confirm one thing before my test, which resolution do you want to use? 1080p60 or 2160p30, or doesn't matter?

Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,709 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi @xud 

Correct. The /media/usb/test_1.ts does not exist. I modified the /media/card/configs/Display/input.cfg file to point to the bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal_hevc.mkv video file (last log uploaded) and was still unable to play the video file to my monitor.

I have tried 1080p and 2160p with no success on either. I am currently running at 2160p because that is what the demo file is:

 

root@zcu106_vcu_trd:/media/card/bin# ./vcu_gst_app /media/card/config/Display/input.cfg
ERROR: vgst_init() failed error code -74 :: "VLIB No media source Available"
Get "VLIB No media source Available" error in Tx only design, can be ignored!!!
/*************************Pipeline Information Start*************************/
Pipeline Info : On
Fps Info : On
APM Info : On
Output goes on : HDMI
Frame rate : 60
Number of Source is : 1
Use case is to : Display
Device Type : TPG
Format : NV12
Width : 3840
Height : 2160
Raw : False
Src Type : File Src
URI : file:///media/card/bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal_hevc.mkv
/*************************Pipeline Information End*************************/
Encoder Memory Bandwidth (0.00 Gbps)
Decoder Memory Bandwidth (0.02 Gbps)
Pipeline [1] Fps[0]
Encoder Memory Bandwidth (0.00 Gbps)
Decoder Memory Bandwidth (0.19 Gbps)
Pipeline [1] Fps[0]
Encoder Memory Bandwidth (0.00 Gbps)
Decoder Memory Bandwidth (0.19 Gbps)
Pipeline [1] Fps[0]
Encoder Memory Bandwidth (0.00 Gbps)
Decoder Memory Bandwidth (0.19 Gbps)
Pipeline [1] Fps[0]
Encoder Memory Bandwidth (0.00 Gbps)
Decoder Memory Bandwidth (0.19 Gbps)
Pipeline [1] Fps[0]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
[   69.020454] random: crng init done
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
Error!! code "No valid frames decoded before end of stream" to pipeline [1]
^CHit Ctrl-C
Quitting the app now
Quitting the loop 
playback count 1
root@zcu106_vcu_trd:/media/card/bin# cat /sys/devices/platform/amba_pl@0/a0020000.v_hdmi_tx_ss/hdmi_info 
  Stream Info
 -------------
        Color Format:     RGB
        Color Depth:      8
        Pixels Per Clock: 2
        Mode:             Progressive
        Frame Rate:       60Hz
        Resolution:       3840x2160@60Hz
        Pixel Clock:      594000000

  Stream Timing
 ----------------

        HSYNC Timing: hav=3840, hfp=176, hsw=88(hsp=1), hbp=296, htot=4400 
        VSYNC Timing: vav=2160, vfp=08, vsw=10(vsp=1), vbp=072, vtot=2250


Tx Info
--------
TX Mode - HDMI 
HDMI Video Mask is Disabled

Scrambled: 1
Sample rate: 1
Audio channels: 0
root@zcu106_vcu_trd:/media/card/bin# 

 

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,673 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

 

 

Hi @njozwiak 

I couldn't find the exact same video, so I used bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal.mp4 with following command :

 modetest -D a0070000.v_mix -s 39:3840x2160-30@AR24 -w 35 :"alpha":0 &

gst-launch-1.0 uridecodebin uri="file:///media/card/4kvideo/bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal.mp4" ! queue max-size-bytes=0 ! kmssink bus-id="a0070000.v_mix"

I could see the video on my HDMI Sink :

4kp30_terminal.JPG

IMG_2939.JPG

 

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,662 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi @xud 

Can you please provide a URL that I can download the bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal.mp4 file you are using? I would like to replicate your test exactly.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,641 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi @xud 

Yes! Finally! This works! I can see HDMI TX playing this file!

To lay things out for any forum post readers:

1. I am booting the board with the images/vcu_hdmitx/ pre-built binaries from the VCU TRD.

2. I am playing the bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal.mp4 file that can be retrieved from: https://download.blender.org/demo/movies/BBB/

 

I have a couple of final question, xud. Here is my console output running the commands you provided:

root@zcu106_vcu_trd:~# modetest -D a0070000.v_mix -s 36:3840x2160-30@AR24 -w 35 :"alpha":0 &
[1] 2643
root@zcu106_vcu_trd:~# usage: modetest [-cDdefMPpsCvw]

 Query options:

	-c	list connectors
	-e	list encoders
	-f	list framebuffers
	-p	list CRTCs and planes (pipes)

 Test options:

	-P <plane_id>@<crtc_id>:<w>x<h>[+<x>+<y>][*<scale>][@<format>]	set a plane
	-s <connector_id>[,<connector_id>][@<crtc_id>]:<mode>[-<vrefresh>][@<format>]	set a mode
	-C	test hw cursor
	-v	test vsynced page flipping
	-w <obj_id>:<prop_name>:<value>	set property

 Generic options:

	-d	drop master after mode set
	-M module	use the given driver
	-D device	use the given device

	Default is to dump all info.


root@zcu106_vcu_trd:~# gst-launch-1.0 uridecodebin uri="file:///run/media/mmcblk0p4/bbb_sunflower_2160p_30fps_normal.mp4" ! queue max-size-bytes=0 ! kmssink bus-id="a0070000.v_mix"

 

1. It appears there is an error in the syntax for the modetest command you provided. Do you know where that is coming from?

2. Can you explain the configuration being done in the modetest command?

Thank you for your help. Glad I finally have this working on the ZCU106.

Nathan

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,631 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: HDMI output on ZCU106

Jump to solution

Hi @njozwiak 

I don't know why, maybe it's a typo. Anyway, please refer to screenshot below on the correct command :

modetest.JPG

The autostart.sh of VCU TRD normally set resolution to 2160p60, I used modetest to switch it to 2160p30, as the video clip indicates _2160p_30fps.

As I mentioned previously, modetest is used to set the DRM driver configuration. In this case, HDMI TX is the display sink, so HDMI TX parameter is configured. If you have DisplayPort as display Sink, you can use to configure the DP parameter, also using different Connector ID to tell driver, which type of display you want to use. You can see it in multiple stream example.

 

0 Kudos