cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Help with Video Processing Pipeline

Hi, I am looking for help in developing a simple video processing pipeline in Vivado 2019.2. I am a student and my only experience with Vivado has been from a high-level synthesis class, where I used Vivado to integrate custom HLS IPs. This was not very deep, we mostly relied on Vivado's automation. So it is okay to assume I am missing basics, and please feel free to link to other resources where I can learn more. 

My Custom HLS IP in this case is currently a simple blurring operation via 2D convolution. But this is meant as a placeholder, the blurring operation isn't really necessary for this application.

My final application is going to be something like: 

CMOS image sensor with MIPI interface -> Sensor Demosaic -> Custom HLS IP -> object memory

and I am targeting the XZCU15EG

However, our board has not finished fabrication yet, and so I would like to have the following ready in the meantime:

TPG generating Bayer data -> Sensor Demosaic -> Custom HLS IP -> object memory

and I have a Pynq Z-2 with a Zynq 7020 I can test with right now.

The Custom HLS IP currently implements AXI stream input to AXI stream output; I was able to follow the example HLS codes available on GitHub to create something that passes simulation and cosimulation.

But I have several questions regarding the Vivado block diagram, and I'll split them into two parts. 

Test pipeline (for z7020):

1. How do I generate Bayer data using the Test Pattern Generator Version 8? It seems from documentation that this feature was removed starting from the Test Pattern Generator Version 7.