Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MichaelK
Contributor
Contributor

VCU TRD 2019.2 streaming H264 over ethernet and viewing in VLC

Hello!

I'm new to working with GStreamer and video codecs.
I'm trying to stream the output of the TestPatternGenerator (from ZCU106 with the Multistream VCU TRD 2019.2) with H.264 encoding as RTP-Stream over ethernet to a Windows Host. My GStreamer pipeline looks like this:

gst-launch-1.0 -e v4l2src device=/dev/video2 io-mode=4 ! video/x-raw, width=1920, height=1080, framerate=60/1 ! omxh264enc qp-mode=auto gop-mode=low-delay-p gop-length=60 periodicity-idr=60 b-frames=0 target-bitrate=10000 num-slices=8 control-rate=-1 prefetch-buffer=TRUE low-bandwidth=false filler-data=0 cpb-size=1000 initial-delay=500 ! video/x-h264, alignment=nal ! h264parse ! rtph264pay ! rtpjitterbuffer ! queue ! udpsink host=192.168.0.1 port=5004 max-bitrate=0 max-lateness=-1 buffer-size=600000000 qos-dscp=60 async=false

And I'm viewing it in VLC with this sdp-File

v=0
m=video 5004 RTP/AVP 96
c=IN IP4 192.168.0.2
a=rtpmap:96 H264/90000
a=framerate=60

The result is a stream that plays for 1 or 2 seconds and then starts stuttering very much.

I tried dumping the video in a mp4-file with:

gst-launch-1.0 -e v4l2src device=/dev/video2 io-mode=4 ! video/x-raw, width=1920, height=1080, framerate=60/1, format=NV12 ! omxh264enc ! video/x-h264, profile=high, alignment=nal ! queue ! h264parse ! qtmux ! filesink location=test_cf.mp4

(and various other omxh264enc settings, encoding profiles)
I copied that mp4 over to the Windows-Host and tried playing it with VLC but it's even worse than the stream.
Decoding that same mp4 on the board and displaying it over HDMI results in a correctly playing video.

Streaming and recording with H265 encoding works without problems.

Any idea what I'm doing wrong here or what settings i'm missing?

Thanks!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
watari
Teacher
Teacher

Hi @MichaelK