cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MarcGV
Observer
Observer
445 Views
Registered: ‎11-24-2020

VCU block diagram

Jump to solution

Hello,

I want to compress video data from a SDI-device. I figured out that I could use the VCU on my evaluation kit (ZCU106) but I'm really struggling with making a block design for this. I've tried to take a look at the trd but when I try to open the block design there are no connections made. Any idea how I can fix this or where I can find information about making this block diagram.

kind regards,

 

Marc

 

Screenshot_1.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
watari
Teacher
Teacher
415 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @MarcGV 

 

I guess you are facing two kind of issue.

 

1) launch tcl script on wrong directory

> couldn't read file "designs/zcu106_trd/bd.tcl": no such file or directory

 

According to log file, you launch tcl script on wrong directory.

So, would you change current directory to <extract directory>/pl before launch tcl script ?

 

2) path length issue. (Maximum length is  260byte on Windows.)

 

I'm not sure. But you might be facing path length issue.

Because you launch this script file on Windows.

Maximum length is  260byte on Windows.

 

So, I recommend to fix this issue as below.

 

a) Modify maximum path length issue.

You can fix it to modify relevant parameter by registry editor.

 

b) Change  instance name as short as possible.

You can change instance name as short as possible on tcl script.

 

c) Change OS from Windows to Linux.

There is NOT like this limitation on Linux OS.

 

Best regards,

View solution in original post

5 Replies
watari
Teacher
Teacher
435 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @MarcGV 

 

Would you share log message on the console ?


Best regards,

 

0 Kudos
MarcGV
Observer
Observer
423 Views
Registered: ‎11-24-2020

Hi @watari,

This is the log message

regards

0 Kudos
watari
Teacher
Teacher
416 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @MarcGV 

 

I guess you are facing two kind of issue.

 

1) launch tcl script on wrong directory

> couldn't read file "designs/zcu106_trd/bd.tcl": no such file or directory

 

According to log file, you launch tcl script on wrong directory.

So, would you change current directory to <extract directory>/pl before launch tcl script ?

 

2) path length issue. (Maximum length is  260byte on Windows.)

 

I'm not sure. But you might be facing path length issue.

Because you launch this script file on Windows.

Maximum length is  260byte on Windows.

 

So, I recommend to fix this issue as below.

 

a) Modify maximum path length issue.

You can fix it to modify relevant parameter by registry editor.

 

b) Change  instance name as short as possible.

You can change instance name as short as possible on tcl script.

 

c) Change OS from Windows to Linux.

There is NOT like this limitation on Linux OS.

 

Best regards,

View solution in original post

MarcGV
Observer
Observer
386 Views
Registered: ‎11-24-2020

Hi @watari

I changed the directory to something shorter and I tried another .tcl file.
Now the only error I get is this (refer to attachment) 

I've checked the directory and the file should be there.

kind regards,

 

0 Kudos
watari
Teacher
Teacher
352 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @MarcGV 

 

># add_files -norecurse ./srcs/hdl/compact_gt_ctrl.v
>ERROR: [Vivado 12-172] File or Directory './srcs/hdl/compact_gt_ctrl.v' does not exist
>update_compile_order -fileset sources_1

 

As I mentioned before, you launched tcl script at wrong directory.

Would you change current directory to proper directory or change this file name path on "add_files" command ?

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos