cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
aamir_sheikh
Contributor
Contributor

VDMA and HDMI with linux

I interfaced ov2640 with pynq fpga, and used vdma to store frames to memory, and display it to an hdmi monitor.

I have to port the baremetal application to linux. I am using this example.

the video pipeline in the hardware do not require any software configuration except for vdma configuration.

now, i do not get any display on the hdmi display. s2mm works,(there is some data in the memory, see attached log file).

I am new to linux. Any help is appreciated.

0 Kudos
18 Replies
Nikhil_Thapa
Explorer
Explorer

Hi @aamir_sheikh ,

Could you check the MM2S status? It can tell you what is happening to read channel of VDMA. 

Regards,

nikhil@logictronix.com
:::::Do not forget to Accept as solution, give Kudo and Share a post that you think is helpful:::::
0 Kudos
aamir_sheikh
Contributor
Contributor

void vdma_s2mm_status_dump(vdma_handle *handle) {
    int status = vdma_get(handle, OFFSET_VDMA_S2MM_STATUS_REGISTER);
    printf("S2MM status register (%08x):", status);
    vdma_status_dump(status);
}

void vdma_mm2s_status_dump(vdma_handle *handle) {
    int status = vdma_get(handle, OFFSET_VDMA_MM2S_STATUS_REGISTER);
    printf("MM2S status register (%08x):", status);
    vdma_status_dump(status);
}
void vdma_status_dump(int status) {
    if (status & VDMA_STATUS_REGISTER_HALTED) printf(" halted"); else printf("running");
    if (status & VDMA_STATUS_REGISTER_VDMAInternalError) printf(" vdma-internal-error");
    if (status & VDMA_STATUS_REGISTER_VDMASlaveError) printf(" vdma-slave-error");
    if (status & VDMA_STATUS_REGISTER_VDMADecodeError) printf(" vdma-decode-error");
    if (status & VDMA_STATUS_REGISTER_StartOfFrameEarlyError) printf(" start-of-frame-early-error");
    if (status & VDMA_STATUS_REGISTER_EndOfLineEarlyError) printf(" end-of-line-early-error");