Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Video conversion with Lower resolution from HDMI to CSI2

Hi Everyone,

I am a beginner in the FPGA world and I am working on a project where I need to lower the resolution of the video, where the video is provided either from the HDMI or SDI. And I need the output in form CSI2. It should be realtime.

In simpler form: 

Input- (a x b) 30fps video through HDMI. a,b = pixel length and width

output- (c x d) 30fps video as CSI2. c,d = pixel length and width

Could you guys guide me in it and which hardware is capable of doing this task?

Thanks in Advance.

With Regards,

Manish

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher

Hi @manish393 

If my understanding is correct, you can select proper FPGA from the following families.

- Spartan6

- 7 seriase

- Ultrascale

- Ultrascale+

Best regards,

Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Hi @watari,

Thanks for the suggestions. But as far as my research I could not find way to convert hdmi to csi2 for those boards. Do I need some separate module? Is there any tutorial that I can follow for the same task?

With Regards,

Manish

Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher

Hi @manish393 

You must design bridge chip with HDMI Rx IP and MIPI CSI2 Tx.

It's easy, if you use AXI4Stream in your design.

Would you try it ?

Best regards,

Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Hi  @watari,

thanks for your guidance.

I will definitely try that and I have decided to go with Zynq Ultrascale+ 104 for the hardware. As this FPGA does not have CSI2 port. So I cannot perform my test directly on the Hardware. I have tried to find out the LPC FMC board which has CSI2 as an output. But I could find any board that has CSI2 as an output. Mostly I found has CSI2 as an input or DSI as an output. Is there an FMC board in the market that gives me this functionality?

With Regards,

Manish

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher

Hi @manish393