cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

how read and write video?

I am new in this field, and I am working on a project read video and applied some equations and then write it.

I have board Nexys A7, Artix -7. any advise me?

I  regard that

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Hey there, the Nexyx-A7 board is more of a classroom type board with lots of switches, buttons, leds; its a good beginner board to learn about the basics of digital design and learn HDL (verilog/vhdl). It is also only programmable logic, there is no CPU embedded in the silicon, like the Zynq 7-series FPGA's.

Do you have a specific application in mind? I ask, because you mentioned video, and the Nexsys A7 does not have any video input and a VGA output. You mentioned you are new, please bear with me, but if you are locked into this board, one option would be to stream the video in through the Ethernet, setup a MicroBlaze with the LWip driver, and us socket communications to get the data in and out. Otherwise you could stream the data in through Ethernet and output the VGA, but you mentioned you want video in, process the video, then video out. You may also run out of resources, and depending on your experience this approach can get complicated quickly.

I would recommend getting the Zybo-Z7 which has built in HDMI sink (RX) and source ports (TX), theres plenty of examples on the Zybo out there, and on the product page they even offer an HDMI Demo that may provide a great start for what you are trying to achieve:

https://reference.digilentinc.com/learn/programmable-logic/tutorials/zybo-z7-hdmi-demo/start