UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
1,584 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

hi, I am currently using ZCU 106 development board for video display. At present, there is no problem with the display of DP interface. Now I want to use DP TO HDMI adapter to display  HDMI, but I have used two kinds of adapters but HDMI has no signal. include active adapters and inactive.  

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Scholar watari
Scholar
1,553 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

First of all, generally, you must use the following adapter to succeed.

 

- Passive adapter

  - Use HDMI protocol. But signal level is DP.

  - It is called by "DP++". Need capability DP and HDMI on DP Source.

- Active adapter

  - Use DP protocol. Signal level is DP.

  - Need protocol converter IC.

 

In this case (use native DP port on MPSoC), you must use active adapter.

 

Could you share product name and/or part number ?

I will reply it , if I understand or know the product.

 

Best regards,

16 Replies
Scholar watari
Scholar
1,554 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

First of all, generally, you must use the following adapter to succeed.

 

- Passive adapter

  - Use HDMI protocol. But signal level is DP.

  - It is called by "DP++". Need capability DP and HDMI on DP Source.

- Active adapter

  - Use DP protocol. Signal level is DP.

  - Need protocol converter IC.

 

In this case (use native DP port on MPSoC), you must use active adapter.

 

Could you share product name and/or part number ?

I will reply it , if I understand or know the product.

 

Best regards,

Contributor
Contributor
1,535 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution
at beginning ,I bought a passive adapter, but it did not work,then I bought an active adapter,but not work at all.The ACTIVE adapter name is UGREEN,DP to hdmi, part number is 13285595194. I bought it at https://item.jd.com/13285595194.html.
0 Kudos
Scholar watari
Scholar
1,505 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

I'd like to confirm whether your environment is fine or not.

So, could you tell me the following question ?

 

- Source display device. (Product name and support maximum resolution)

- Output resolution and video timing on MPSoC.

 

 

Best regards,

 

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
1,491 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution
Hi,@watari
-Source display device: PHILIPS 40PFF5021/T3 ,max resolution is 1920*1080P, 60Hz.
--Output resolution : 1920*1080
0 Kudos
Scholar watari
Scholar
1,484 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

I suspect that your adapter is passive adapter.

Here is reason.

 

- Your adapter price is cheaper. If it was active adapter, the price is at least more expensive.

- Your target resolution is suitable for DP 1.2a.

 

However, if your adapter is active adapter, I recommend that you make sure the following.

 

- Does your design have HDCP key ?

  - If you can prepare PC monitor, you can ignore it.

- Link status of DP

  - I forget it. But you can make sure these status by reading status register.

- How do you output video data on MPSoC ? Also, what kind of format do you output ? (YUV444 or RGB888 or other)

 

Would you try them ?

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
1,477 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution
Hi,@watari
1.The source display device can not have problem.I can display other HDMI sources on it.
2.If I just only using DP interface to display the source from the zcu106 borad, there are no problems . So, the DP link status should be OK,I think.
3.do you have other active adapters to be recommended?
0 Kudos
Scholar watari
Scholar
1,456 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

> 3.do you have other active adapters to be recommended?

 

I don't know it.

However I know the feature of it. (How to confirm whether it is active adapter or not.)

 

Generally, active adapter and passive adapter have the following feature.

 

- Active adapter

  - It has converter IC. It has a little PCB on converter cable (box).

- Passive adapter

  - The price is cheap.

  - It has only retimer IC (ex. SN75DP149).

  - This figure is wire cable. Don't have any PCB on it.

 

Of cause, it may have different thing. But almost all are followed this feature.

 

Best regards,

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,376 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

HI @zengzxxilinx,

 

Do you have any updates on this topic? Were the replies from @watari enough for you?

If your question is answered or your issue is solved, please mark the response which helped as solution (click on the button "Accept as solution" below the reply)

If this is not solved/answered, please reply in the topic giving more information on your current status.

Best Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
1,344 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution
Hi,@ florentw , My question is not solved yet. I bought a new adapter that recommended by other communicators.I do not make test yet. I need to finish the test before closing this topic.Thank you
0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
1,181 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi,@watari.  I have bought two active adapters that recommended by other communicators. I connected to my zcu106 board DP interface, another side connected  to monitor with a HDMI male-male line, but  there still no signal .I  do not know what the problem is .can you give me some advises?   IMG_20180917_130739.jpg

0 Kudos
Scholar watari
Scholar
1,167 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

I already confirmed CAC-1070.  I'm probably sure that this adaptive adapter would be fine.

However you could not resolve it.

Therefore, I'd like to ask you the followings question to resolve your issue.

Would you tell me your answer ?

 

- Would you tell me your monitor name ?

- How to output video signal on ZCU106 ? Use linux ? If you use trd, would you show me url ?

- Can you output VGA signal (640x480@60Hz/VESA) and/or 720p(CEA) via DP Tx ?

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
1,144 Views
Registered: ‎05-29-2018

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi, @watari ,sorry to reply late.
1. my monitor is PHILIPS 40PFF5021/T3 ,max resolution is 1920*1080P, 60Hz.

2.  firstly ,I just using DP to display my source, it shows fine. I using  linux ,referenced

the project "xilinx-zcu106-2018.1" from XILINX. It shows like the following pictures.

3. Can you output VGA signal (640x480@60Hz/VESA) and/or 720p(CEA) via DP Tx ?

----- I did not have the DP to VGA adapters, so did not output with that way.

微信图片_20180920105912.jpg

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,124 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

HI @zengzxxilinx,

 


@zengzxxilinx wrote:

3. Can you output VGA signal (640x480@60Hz/VESA) and/or 720p(CEA) via DP Tx ?



> Yes you can if the monitor supports it. You basically can do any resolution supported by the monitor as long as it is max 4K@30


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Scholar watari
Scholar
1,096 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

Sorry for my late reply.

 

>3. Can you output VGA signal (640x480@60Hz/VESA) and/or 720p(CEA) via DP Tx ?

>----- I did not have the DP to VGA adapters, so did not output with that way.

 

I'm not sure. But if you use linux with X Window, would you execute the following command ?

Also, could you show me the result ?

Of cause you need to change device name from DP-0 (myu environment) to ex. DP1, HDMI1 and so on.

 

1. Confirm supported resolution (my environment/use analog RGB)

$ sudo xrandr

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1600 x 1200, maximum 16384 x 16384
DP-0 connected primary 1600x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 408mm x 306mm
   1600x1200     60.00*+
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02
   1280x960      75.00    60.00
   1152x864      75.00
   1024x768      85.00    75.03    70.07    60.00
   800x600       85.06    75.00    72.19    60.32    56.25
   640x480       85.01    75.00    72.81    59.94
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-4 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-5 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

 

2. Change resolution

$ sudo xrandr --output DP-0 --mode 640x480

$ sudo xrandr --output DP-0 --mode 1280x720

 

Best regards,

Scholar watari
Scholar
1,076 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx

 

I add some sugestion.

 

1. Execute the following commands.

 

$ sudo xrandr --output DP-0 --mode 640x480

$ sudo xrandr --output DP-0 --mode 1280x720

 

1-1. The result is fine. So, your TV doesn't support external 1080p or video timing is not followed CEA video timing.

 

1-2. The result is wrong. It migh be signal issue or compatibility issue.

 

If you'd like to resolve this issue, I suggest to use LCD monitor with Display Port or HDMI port.

TV monitor might support external input video signal. However, it has some compatibility issue.

 

Best regards,

 

Moderator
Moderator
993 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Display Port to HDMI adapters do not work at zcu106 board

Jump to solution

Hi @zengzxxilinx,

 

Do you have any updates on this? Were the replies from @watari enough for you?

 

If your question is answered or your issue is solved, please kindly mark the response which helped as solution (click on "Accept as solution" button below the reply)

If this is not solved/answered, please reply in the topic giving more information on your current status.

Thanks and Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos