UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer hawthorn_3
Observer

Image processing on ZCU102

Hello,

I am quite new to MPSoC programming and Video/Image processing and have a pretty noob question.
Currently I'm working on an US+ project, in which a camera and a monitor are connected to the board. My design includes HDMI (Tx and Rx) subsystems and I was able to get a pass through application working. The next thing I want to try is applying some simple filter and display the output on the monitor. Xilinx offers two IP cores, which look suitable for my needs - a Framebuffer (Wr/Rd) and a Video Processing Subsystem. As far as I could understand the second one can be used directly on a video stream. Is the usage of Framebuffers in that case necessary? I'm not really sure I understand their purpose - are they used to "simply" read and write data from and into the DDR. What I also do not really get is how the frames are actually stored in the memory (in what format and so on). Would it be a better approach to read a frame directly from the DDR, apply some filters, save it back and then output it on the screen?

I'd be grateful for all the tips and help I can get.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Voyager
Voyager

Re: Image processing on ZCU102

Check out the following series of posts for using Video on Xilinx devices.

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Video/Xilinx-Video-Series/td-p/849583

Ted Booth - Tech. Lead FPGA Design Engineer
www.designlinxhs.com

Hi @hawthorn_3 ,

Yes my video series are a great place to start ;)

You might be able to work without the video frame buffer. However please not the following: