UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer ankitsohni
Observer
238 Views
Registered: ‎07-31-2018

Interlace video compression capability in VCU(ZCU106)

Jump to solution

Hi,

Does video codec present in ZCU106 board supports for interlace video ?

As per Xilinx VCU TRD 2019.1 Wiki, VCU supports interlace video. For interlace video compression, what gst command should be run ?

In specific, I have PAL video input (720 x 576i @ 50fps). Is it possible to compress PAL video with VCU ?

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Moderator
189 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Interlace video compression capability in VCU(ZCU106)

Jump to solution

Hi @ankitsohni 

You need to use the alternate parameter:

gst-launch-1.0 v4l2src io-mode=4 device=/dev/media0 ! video/x-raw,interlace-mode=alternate, format=NV16_10LE32, width=720, height=576,framerate=50 ! omxh265enc ! filesink location="tt.h265"


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
7 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
190 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Interlace video compression capability in VCU(ZCU106)

Jump to solution

Hi @ankitsohni 

You need to use the alternate parameter:

gst-launch-1.0 v4l2src io-mode=4 device=/dev/media0 ! video/x-raw,interlace-mode=alternate, format=NV16_10LE32, width=720, height=576,framerate=50 ! omxh265enc ! filesink location="tt.h265"


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
Moderator
Moderator
156 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Interlace video compression capability in VCU(ZCU106)

Jump to solution

Hi @ankitsohni 

Do you have any update on this topic? Is everything clear for you?

If your question is answered or your issue is solved, please kindly mark the response which helped as solution (click on "Accept as solution" button below the reply)

If this is not solved/answered, please reply in the topic giving more information on your current status.

Thanks and Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Observer ankitsohni
Observer
146 Views
Registered: ‎07-31-2018

Re: Interlace video compression capability in VCU(ZCU106)

Jump to solution

Hi,

Thanks for the response.

I have not yet checked & verified this command as we are arranging PAL to SDI convertor at our end. Since ZCU106 board takes only SDI input.

I will update soon on this solution.

interlace video support feature of VCU is available on 2018.3 VCU TRD images ?

 

Regards,

Ankit Sohni

 

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
136 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Interlace video compression capability in VCU(ZCU106)

Jump to solution

HI @ankitsohni 

No I do not think the VCU TRD fully support interlaced yet.

Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
108 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Interlace video compression capability in VCU(ZCU106)

Jump to solution

HI @ankitsohni 

Is everything clear for you on this topic?

If your question is answered or your issue is solved, please kindly mark the response which helped as solution (click on "Accept as solution" button below the reply)

If this is not solved/answered, please reply in the topic giving more information on your current status.

Thanks and Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Observer ankitsohni
Observer
62 Views
Registered: ‎07-31-2018

Re: Interlace video compression capability in VCU(ZCU106)

Jump to solution

Hi,

I have tried the command in ZCU106 Board, but pipeline got broken. Please see the log attached here :-

 

root@zcu106_vcu_trd:~# gst-launch-1.0 v4l2src io-mode=4 device=/dev/media0 ! video/x-raw,interlace-mode=alternate, format=NV16_10LE32, width=720, height=576,framerate=50 ! omxh265enc ! filesink location="tt.h265"

WARNING: erroneous pipeline: could not link v4l2src0 to omxh265enc-omxh265enc0, neither element can handle caps video/x-raw, interlace-mode=(string)alternate, format=(string)NV16_10LE32, width=(int)720, height=(int)576, framerate=(int)50

 

But this command works out for me

gst-launch-1.0 v4l2src io-mode=4 device=/dev/video0 ! video/x-raw, format=NV12, width=720, height=288,framerate=50/1 ! omxh265enc ! h265parse ! omxh265dec ! queue max-size-bytes=0 ! kmssink bus-id="a0070000.v_mix"

Whether this command treats as progressive before processing ?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
20 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Interlace video compression capability in VCU(ZCU106)

Jump to solution

Hi @ankitsohni 

Interlaced is not fully supported in the VCU TRD 2019.1. My guess is that the SDI RX is not properly setting everything as interlaced.

It should be better in the next version.


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos