UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer elahi
Observer
431 Views
Registered: ‎09-22-2018

PL ram not working in transcoding pipeline in vcu+gstreamer

Hello, 

I'm working on using PL ram in transcoding pipeline, as decribed in "Enabling PL-DDR for Decoder" section of PG252. Actually nothing works, when I use put the pl ram on SODIM socket and build the required device-tree, whether I use pl ram via "v4l2video0convert" element or not using in at all. The result is never-ending command, which actually doing nothing(based on "top" command result).

Can anyone please help me to solve this issue?

Regards, 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Mentor watari
Mentor
391 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: PL ram not working in transcoding pipeline in vcu+gstreamer

Hi @elahi 

 

Would you share your gstreamer's pipeline ?

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
365 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: PL ram not working in transcoding pipeline in vcu+gstreamer

HI @elahi 

The section "Use PL-DDR" assume you are using the DDR as memory not internal RAM from the FPGA. I am not sure if that would work.

Please use with the PL DDR


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Observer elahi
Observer
359 Views
Registered: ‎09-22-2018

Re: PL ram not working in transcoding pipeline in vcu+gstreamer

Dear @watari 
gst-launch-1.0 filesrc location=/var/volatile/test.mp4 ! qtdemux name=demux demux.video_0 ! h264parse ! omxh264dec internal-entropy-buffers=7 ! queue max-size-bytes=0 ! v4l2video0convert output-io-mode=5 capture-io-mode=4 disable-passthrough=1 import-buffer-alignment=true ! omxh264enc num-slices=2 cpb-size=4000 max-qp=45 scaling-list=0 control-rate=1 b-frames=0 gop-mode=2 qp-mode=2 quant-i-frames=28 prefetch-buffer=true periodicity-idr=250 gop-length=250 target-bitrate=4200 max-bitrate=4500 ! video/x-h264, profile=high ! filesink location=/var/volatile/result.h264

0 Kudos
Observer elahi
Observer
348 Views
Registered: ‎09-22-2018

Re: PL ram not working in transcoding pipeline in vcu+gstreamer

Dear @florentw,

I'm using it as PL-DDR

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
339 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: PL ram not working in transcoding pipeline in vcu+gstreamer

HI @elahi 

What is the device on which you are storing the result? Are you sure you have enough space for this?

You might want to store the output on an external SATA drive or USB stick.

 


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Observer elahi
Observer
326 Views
Registered: ‎09-22-2018

Re: PL ram not working in transcoding pipeline in vcu+gstreamer

Dear @florentw,

Actually the PL-DDR has 8GB capacity and the test file is 8second. I'm sure that nothing is wrong with storage, because I checked so many files with very small size

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
320 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: PL ram not working in transcoding pipeline in vcu+gstreamer

HI @elahi 

What happen if you try with the PS DDR? Can you run this command? Did you try with the same file and same command on a reference board using the PS DDR?

Also could you share the full log?


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Mentor watari
Mentor
273 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: PL ram not working in transcoding pipeline in vcu+gstreamer

Hi @elahi 

 

As @florentw mentioned, I suspect low speed storage issue.

Would you share the following result to make sure it ?

 

$ df -k -T

 

Also, would you change internal-entropy-buffers from 7 to 16 to make sure effection ?

 

gst-launch-1.0 filesrc location=/var/volatile/test.mp4 ! qtdemux name=demux demux.video_0 ! h264parse ! omxh264dec internal-entropy-buffers=16 ! queue max-size-bytes=0 ! v4l2video0convert output-io-mode=5 capture-io-mode=4 disable-passthrough=1 import-buffer-alignment=true ! omxh264enc num-slices=2 cpb-size=4000 max-qp=45 scaling-list=0 control-rate=1 b-frames=0 gop-mode=2 qp-mode=2 quant-i-frames=28 prefetch-buffer=true periodicity-idr=250 gop-length=250 target-bitrate=4200 max-bitrate=4500 ! video/x-h264, profile=high ! filesink location=/var/volatile/result.h264

 

And, would you make sure memory information by the following command, too ?

 

$ cat /proc/meminfo

$ cat /proc/iomem

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
194 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: PL ram not working in transcoding pipeline in vcu+gstreamer

HI @elahi 

Do you have any update to share on this?

Thanks


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos