UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
955 Views
Registered: ‎03-17-2017

UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

I'm working on a design with a single SDI transmitter using the "SMPTE UHD-SDI TX SUBSYSTEM" and "UHD-SDI GT" cores. I have everything connected as required between the two cores, however the "UHD-SDI GT" core has many open connections for RX stuff I don't need. I was hoping the RX side of this core would get synthesized out and be a non-issue, but it seems this causes many critical warnings and eventually an error in implementation.

What is the best way to connect these uneeded ports up to avoid this issue and not waste resources?

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Moderator
543 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

HI @joe306 

Optimized means that if the RX part is not connected, the tool will optimize (i.e delete the logic) for the RX part

For the first question about 4 streams, just wait the reply on your topic (in general, please do not try to ask the same question multiple times on the forums):

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Video/External-Reference-Clock-for-SMPTE-UHD-SDI-TX-Subsystem-v-0/m-p/1027042#M27989


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

9 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
910 Views
Registered: ‎03-30-2016

Re: UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

Hello @baf2099 

UHD-SDI GT only support Duplex and RX-only data flow for now.
Please check PG290 appendix C.

I am not sure if TX only is implementable since the GUI does not support it ,
but other users may give you some good input if you can share the critical warnings from your design implementation.

Thanks & regards
Leo

FORUM_SDI_GT.png
Moderator
Moderator
888 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

HI @baf2099 ,

I would try to set up the UHD-SDI GT as full duplex and then connect all the RX input to 0 and check if the RX part is optimized0

Regards


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
Moderator
Moderator
828 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

HI @baf2099 ,

Do you have any update on this? Is everything clear for you?

If your question is answered or your issue is solved, please kindly mark the response which helped as solution (click on "Accept as solution" button below the reply)

If this is not solved/answered, please reply in the topic giving more information on your current status.

Thanks and Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
Voyager
Voyager
563 Views
Registered: ‎12-07-2018

Re: UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

Hello, I am doing the same thing. Has there been any more on this post? I need send SDI video to 4-SDI displays so I only need the transmit side not the receive side.

 

Thanks, 

Joe

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
560 Views
Registered: ‎12-07-2018

Re: UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

Hello, quick question from a newbie. What does it mean when you say RX optimized? What would one expect, an error message?

 

Thanks,

Joe

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
544 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

HI @joe306 

Optimized means that if the RX part is not connected, the tool will optimize (i.e delete the logic) for the RX part

For the first question about 4 streams, just wait the reply on your topic (in general, please do not try to ask the same question multiple times on the forums):

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Video/External-Reference-Clock-for-SMPTE-UHD-SDI-TX-Subsystem-v-0/m-p/1027042#M27989


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

Voyager
Voyager
535 Views
Registered: ‎12-07-2018

Re: UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

Sorry, I'm always one to be a pain. Thank you, Joe

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
416 Views
Registered: ‎11-21-2018

Re: UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

Hi @joe306 

It seems your issue has been resolved. 

Please kindly mark the response which helped as a solution (click on "Accept as solution" button below the reply), so it is easier for other community members to find. 

Regards, 

Aoife
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
Observer sabiya
Observer
234 Views
Registered: ‎07-26-2019

Re: UHD-SDI GT with TX only

Jump to solution

Hi,

I also required the same requirement for this PICXO is used or not?

Thanks,

0 Kudos