UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer rathna
Observer
269 Views
Registered: ‎05-21-2018

Unable to set the synchronization ZCU102 - HDMI output

I'm trying to display an image loaded onto the BRAM on an HDMI monitor. I'm using the same flow from the HDMI tx ss example project. However, I'm unable to get the synchronization correct on the screen. To illustrate this, I have attached the following images. Kindly, help me resolve this. 

The checkered box is my input image, and my output is a shifted black and white diagonal lines.

Tags (2)
IMG_20190101_103639.jpg
IMG_20190101_104216.jpg
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Scholar watari
Scholar
228 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Unable to set the synchronization ZCU102 - HDMI output

Hi @rathna

 

Would you share the followings ?

 

- LCD display name and part number

- Output video resolution and pixel clock frequency on FPGA

- Resolution and clock frequency information on OSD of your display, when it occurs

 

Best regards,

 

0 Kudos
Observer rathna
Observer
214 Views
Registered: ‎05-21-2018

Re: Unable to set the synchronization ZCU102 - HDMI output

1. I am using the Samsung SyncMaster 943 monitor.

2. Resolution: 1280x720@50Hz Pixel clock freq: 74.25MHz. It is the same for the OSD too.

However, I'm tweaking the data and giving data from an image store in Bram. So, I don't know how to fix it. 

0 Kudos
Scholar watari
Scholar
181 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Unable to set the synchronization ZCU102 - HDMI output

Hi @rathna

 

> However, I'm tweaking the data and giving data from an image store in Bram. So, I don't know how to fix it.

 

Can you share this way ?

 

Best regards,

 

0 Kudos
Observer rathna
Observer
166 Views
Registered: ‎05-21-2018

Re: Unable to set the synchronization ZCU102 - HDMI output

So this is the HDMI passthrough example design from the HDMI tx ss. Here, the TPG takes in the video input from an HDMI source. While the control signals are the same. But, I am sending the data from the BRAM. I've also attached the image below. 

Thanks and Regards.

IMG_20190111_110606.jpg
0 Kudos
Scholar watari
Scholar
160 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Unable to set the synchronization ZCU102 - HDMI output

Hi @rathna

 

# About wrong picture

In this case, I guess the address and data signals on BRAM and the control signals on AXI4Stream are a-synchronized.

Also, it ignores sol, eol, sof and eof.

So the picture is broken.

 

# About tweaking the data

In this case, I guess it seems to be synchronized between the control signals on AXI4Stream and address and data signals.

So it seems to work fine.

 

# My suggestion

You prepare a timing controller by AXI4Stream clock to read video data on BRAM.

 

Would you try it, if necessary ?

 

Best regards,

Observer rathna
Observer
70 Views
Registered: ‎05-21-2018

Re: Unable to set the synchronization ZCU102 - HDMI output

I just want to display stored image in BRAM through HDMI or any other possible ports using ZCU102.

Any inputs on this? 

0 Kudos
Scholar watari
Scholar
53 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: Unable to set the synchronization ZCU102 - HDMI output

Hi @rathna

 

As I already mentioned before, you need to implement timing controller to read video data from BRAM via AXI4Stream.

Would you try it ?

 

I'm probably sure that  this way is better solution for you.

 

Best regards,

 

0 Kudos
Observer rathna
Observer
41 Views
Registered: ‎05-21-2018

Re: Unable to set the synchronization ZCU102 - HDMI output

I've tried to use the Video Timing Controller along with BRAM for AXI-stream. But, when I do this, I get absolutely no output on the screen.

In fact, I wrote an HLS code in order to display a red box. When I only connect the data port, I get the unsynchronized output. When I connect all the control signals, I get no output on the screen. That is why I asked you if there was a simpler way to display an image on the screen.

Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg
0 Kudos