UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant guerric.mdd
Participant
1,436 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2017

Use of multiple GT in a Quad for UHD-SDI on Kintex Ultrascale+ ?

Jump to solution

Hello,

 

It looks to me that using multiple GTs in a quad for UHD-SDI on Kintex Ultrascale+ is not working.

 

I started from example design for KCU116, generated from the UHD-SDI RX SS, using Vivado 2018.1. I'm therefore using GTYs.

I then made the few modifications necessary for me (namely using another quad because I'm using SDI SFPs instead of an FMC module).

I could compile the project and check that SDI video was working as expected (I didn't check audio part).

 

I then added more than 1 GT in the quad by customizing the UHD-SDI GT IP. I then realized that while GT1 is connected, the 3 other GTs are unconnected. The compilation fails because constraints about 3 of the GT connections are not correct (since they are unconnected). That is not obvious but the following post-implementation schematic screenshot shows that 3 GT TX are not connected to GT (because of use of OBUF and because Vivado picks "random" FPGA pins for them). For RX, I know from reports and other attempts that 3 GT are unconnected:

 1GT_outof4_crop.png

 

And here is how I connected the UHD-SDI GT IP. I simply connected ports / logic from example design to 4th GT and chained IN/OUT for the 3 others:

GTconfig.png

 

Any idea on how to make use of more than 1 GT in the quad for UHD-SDI GT IP?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Moderator
1,801 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Use of multiple GT in a Quad for UHD-SDI on Kintex Ultrascale+ ?

Jump to solution

The issue is documented in AR#70994.

 

The patch can be found in AR#70974.


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
5 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
1,429 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Use of multiple GT in a Quad for UHD-SDI on Kintex Ultrascale+ ?

Jump to solution

Hi @guerric.mdd,

 

To clarify:

When you say you added on more GT, go you mean you increased the number of links in the UHD-SDI GT core?

 

If this is the case, there is a known issue. Development is working on it.

 

Could you try by using 2 different UHD-SDI GT with only one with the GT common (using Figure C-4 from pg2902 as reference)?

 

Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Participant guerric.mdd
Participant
1,421 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2017

Re: Use of multiple GT in a Quad for UHD-SDI on Kintex Ultrascale+ ?

Jump to solution

Hello Florent,

 

I moved from 1 to 4 links in the UHD-SDI GT core indeed.

Do you know how long will it take for development to solve this? Is it more about 2 weeks or 3 months?

I will try what you suggest (PG290, figure C-4).

 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,413 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Use of multiple GT in a Quad for UHD-SDI on Kintex Ultrascale+ ?

Jump to solution

Hi @guerric.mdd,

 

I hope the issue to be fixed in few weeks. But I cannot garanty anything.

 

Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,393 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Use of multiple GT in a Quad for UHD-SDI on Kintex Ultrascale+ ?

Jump to solution

Hi @guerric.mdd,

 

I sent you the patch which should become public in the next few days.

 

Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,802 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: Use of multiple GT in a Quad for UHD-SDI on Kintex Ultrascale+ ?

Jump to solution

The issue is documented in AR#70994.

 

The patch can be found in AR#70974.


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**