UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,024 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

[vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi,

I used vivado 2018.2 to generate kc705-HDMI example on our customized board and it worked fine. However, I upgraded vivado 2018.2 to 2018.3 and found that HDMI TX interrupt didn't trigger immediately at every bootup.

After around 30 seconds, it triggered and displayed to the monitor.
I also used vivado 2018.3 to generate HDMI example, the problem still happened.

How can I solve this problem?

BR,
Sitting

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
138 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @sitting

If you are okay to use 2018.2, can you close this thread, please? This issue is planed to be fixed in the next release of Vivado

0 Kudos
18 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
981 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @sitting

The clock of HDMI TX is generated from Video PHY, so you need to check the Video PHY TX Ready and LInk Ready before you can get the HDMI TX interrupt

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
966 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @xud,

I need to revise my description that HDMI TX interrupt should change to HDMI TX HPD interrupt.

Why TX HPD event(TxConnectCallback function) didn't trigger immediately with 2018.3?

I am curious why there is an issue with 2018.3, but no issue with 2018.2.

Thanks

Sitting

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
953 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @sitting

This is feature enhancement for HPD in 2018.3 HDMI TX. TX Connect Event should happen when HPD pulse is longer than 100 ms, which aligns with HDMI spec.

changelog.JPG

 

 

Adventurer
Adventurer
941 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

 Hi @xud,

I think our customized board has no problem, because we have passed hdmi certification.

I will try to borrow HDMI FMC and KC705 to test this problem.

 

Thanks,

Sitting

 

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
894 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @xud,

I have tested 2018.3 HDMI example design with kc705 and HDMI FMC card, it has same TX HPD issue. Microblaze need  around 30 seconds to execute TX HPD interrupt function and displayed to the monitor.

Can you help to check this issue?

 

BR,

Sitting

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
892 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

okay @sitting

Can you attach xci file and let me know the sink type pleases?

Please also let me know how you measure the interrupt time. I will do some test at my end, and then get back to you.

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
881 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @xud,

Attached file are my xci file(phy/tx/rx), and my sink is Dell UP3216Q and HP z27s.

I measure the time between cable insertion and TxConnectCallback function execution.

 

BR,

Sitting

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
806 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

@sitting

I have done some tests on KC705 board and UP3216Q.  It was very slow at the first time. I had to press "c" to force it to colorBAR mode.

After I unplug, and plug the TX cable back, and ensure it's solidly connected. I couldn't reproduce the problem anymore. ColorBAR can show up on the screen ~5 seconds.

I'm attaching the terminal log for your reference. If you see the issue, please press "z" and "i" from the menu, we can get more clue on that. 

 

 

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
781 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @xud,

Your result was same with me. It always happened at the first time when you booted up. Is any method to fix it? I think it is not a normal behavior.

 

BR,

Sitting

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
758 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

@sitting

I only saw this problem when TX cable was a bit loosen. After I confirm the TX cable is tightly connected to HDMI port, I couldn't reproduce the issue any more.

If you can still reproduce it, please provide the log file.

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
748 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @xud,

You mean that you can't reproduce issue at the first cable insertion of each boot up, right?

If so, I will provide my test log and experimental procedure tomorrow.

 

BR,

Sitting

 

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
731 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @xud,

Attached files are my logs. Here are my test procedures:

1.Boot up KC705 (or Program FPGA)

2.Plug Tx Cable tightly 

3. Wait a few seconds and press "z" & "i" to show the log

4. Wait a long time and show color bar on the UP3216Q

5. Unplug and Plug cable 

6. Show color bar on the UP3216Q around 3 seconds.

I repeat these procedures and always happen the problem at  the first time.

I also do AB test between 2018.2 and 2018.3.

There is no problem on 2018.2 and procedures are become : 

1.Boot up KC705 (or Program FPGA)

2.Plug Tx Cable tightly 

3. Show color bar on the UP3216Q around 3 seconds.

4. Unplug and Plug cable 

5. Show color bar on the UP3216Q around 3 seconds.

 

 

BR,

Sitting

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
716 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

@sitting

Thanks a lot for your detailed steps.  I will try to power up the board before plugging the TX cable.

Also I can confirm I have seen the same message, when trying to force the colorBAR.

From your log file, it seems that clock is still 0. Can you dump all the Video PHY register value, please?

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
712 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @xud,

How do I dump all the Video PHY register value? Can you teach me?

 

BR,

Sitting

 

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
693 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

@sitting

I was able to reproduce the problem just now. No need to get Video PHY register dump from you.

I will file a change request to report this problem, and debug further at my end

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
485 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

@sitting

I have created CR to report this issue two weeks ago. Our HDMI engineers are looking into it.

Can you let me know if you are okay to use 2018.2 version at the moment or it's very critial to you. 

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
476 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @xud,

Yes, I can use 2018.2 version and also look forward to the solution.

 

BR,

Sitting

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
139 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: [vivado 2018.3 ]HDMI tx interrupt problem

Jump to solution

Hi @sitting

If you are okay to use 2018.2, can you close this thread, please? This issue is planed to be fixed in the next release of Vivado

0 Kudos