cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
12,118 Views
Registered: ‎01-22-2014

System Monitor Virtex 6 question

Hi

I want to design a model that can sense voltage and convert it into temperature using ML605. Im thinking to use system monitor for this purpose. I use one of the analog input channel to take in the voltage to the ADC where conversion is done and the corresponding SYSMON status register value is used to convert it into temperature. Im not sure if this is the right approach to accomplish this model.
Please let me know if this is possible?

Regards

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
12,099 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

can you tell what you meant by converting to temperature??

It is possible to give a analog signal to sysmon and monitor the status register.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
12,089 Views
Registered: ‎01-22-2014

Hi

In user guide I found a formula to use ADC code from status register and use in the same formula to get the temperature. I use this in the code and get the temperature result. Am I right? Can I do this?

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,083 Views
Registered: ‎01-03-2008

The Virtex-6 System Monitor User Guide UG370 documents the temperature sensor data register (0x00) that must be read and the formula (Temp(C)=((value * 503.975/1024) - 273.15) to covert to celsius. 

 

> Am I right? Can I do this?

So, yes you can do this if you couldn't then it wouldn't be documented.

------Have you tried typing your question into Google? If not you should before posting.
Too many results? Try adding site:www.xilinx.com
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
12,064 Views
Registered: ‎01-22-2014

Hi

I guess I was not clear enough. Sorry for that. Since Im giving analog voltage through VP/VN pin, the status register VP/VN(03h) is the one that holds the ADC result. So my question was is it possible to use VP/VN status register value as a voltage value in the formula highlighted in the attached image.

Thank you.

 

adc.bmp
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,056 Views
Registered: ‎01-03-2008

In the first part of your post, you said that you are not using the internal sensor and instead using external inputs.  And in the second part of your post you have a snippet from the user guide that details the operation of the internal sensor. 

 

You need to read the datasheet of the external sensor that you plan on connecting to the system monitor VP/VN pins.

------Have you tried typing your question into Google? If not you should before posting.
Too many results? Try adding site:www.xilinx.com
0 Kudos
Highlighted
12,045 Views
Registered: ‎01-13-2014

Thank u. Its my mistake I did not read the document properly.

Regards

 

0 Kudos