Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

how to create clock in ucf

Jump to solution

Hello all

Im new to virtex family, currently working on VC707. Im trying to create a clock of 33Mhz and input it to my design.

According to board manual, I spotted these two clocks in master ucf, how can i utilize them to creat the 33Mhz clock? and what does differential clock mean?

NET         USER_CLOCK_P                LOC = AK34 | IOSTANDARD=LVCMOS18;

NET         USER_CLOCK_N                LOC = AL34 | IOSTANDARD=LVCMOS18;

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer

Hi Ahmed,

1. Please find the attached .ucf file for vc707.
  2. Use following constraints.

NET      "CLK_200MHZ_SYSACE_P"       LOC = "E19"   |   IOSTANDARD=LVDS;
           NET      "CLK_200MHZ_SYSACE_N"       LOC = "E18"   |   IOSTANDARD=LVDS; 

• Instantiate an MMCM (to generate 33MHz from this 200MHz differential crystal clk input) with "differential pin capable" inputs and connect  directly to this clk pads.
  • Otherwise use IBUFGDS primitive(differential to single ended clock buffer) to get a single ended clock and divide(by 6d) this clock using a counter logic to get 33MHz as per ur previous post link .
  • However If you put a clock signal on a ordinary net  the signal quality (slew rate etc.) will worsen.

Thanks,

Akshay

View solution in original post

9 Replies
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

will this do? I'll appreciate your help.

NET   USER_CLOCK_P      LOC = AK34 |IOSTANDARD=LVCMOS18;

NET       USER_CLOCK_P   TNM_NET = USER_CLOCK_P;

TIMESPEC  TS_USER_CLOCK_P = PERIOD "USER_CLOCK_P" 30.3 ns HIGH 50 %;

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee