cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
331 Views
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

How to constraint DSPs in one area in SDAccel?

Jump to solution

Hi,

    I am using VU9P as my device, and my kernel use too many DSPs(6400/6840),but it can't place in one kernel,so i am using many kernels(256DSPs one kernel) to match this issue, and i find that one SLR can't place too many kernels(just can place two kernels), i find there are too many resources not use(open project in Vivado), and my question is: how to write constraints in SDAccel to constraint one kernel in some place? thx!

Best Regards,

Stephua.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
293 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Re: How to constraint DSPs in one area in SDAccel?

Jump to solution

Hi, @stephua ,

If you intend to appy further floorplan constraints, you can create pblock constraint by yourself in the vivado project (Save them in a tcl script) and apply them with XOCC --xp option.

Ex:

--xp "vivado_prop:run.impl_1.{STEPS.PLACE_DESIGN.ARGS.TCL.PRE}={<File
and path>}"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
317 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Re: How to constraint DSPs in one area in SDAccel?

Jump to solution

From 2018.3, the SDAccel linker has a new option (xocc --slr) to manually assign compute units to specific
SLRs. This feature will only work on compatible platforms.

Ex: --slr krnl_vadd_1:SLR1 --slr krnl_vadd_2:SLR1 --slr krnl_vadd_3:SLR2

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
297 Views
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: How to constraint DSPs in one area in SDAccel?

Jump to solution

Hi,hongh:

  I want to constraint area in every SLR, for example, SLR0 have 2280 DSPs, and i want to assign 6 kernels in it(one kernel use 256 DSPs),i want to constraint 6 areas to the 6 kernels.(i have tested  SLR0 can only placed two kernels(256 DSPs one kernel)routed succeed, this is why i want to constraint 6 areas),thx!

Best Regards,

Stephua.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
294 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Re: How to constraint DSPs in one area in SDAccel?

Jump to solution

Hi, @stephua ,

If you intend to appy further floorplan constraints, you can create pblock constraint by yourself in the vivado project (Save them in a tcl script) and apply them with XOCC --xp option.

Ex:

--xp "vivado_prop:run.impl_1.{STEPS.PLACE_DESIGN.ARGS.TCL.PRE}={<File
and path>}"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos