cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Is Vitis on nonstandard, non-soc board a possibility?

I'm an FPGA design engineer with quite a bit of experience and was able to pick up a used VCU 1525 board relatiively cheaply (It seems like bitcoin miners are dumping them on Ebay). 

It seems like you can create Vitiis projects for SOC boards without XRT's, but only newer ALVEO Ultrascale+ boards have XRTs for Vitis. It also seems like the base config necessary to support Vitis at a hardware level shouldn't be that hard to create for a standard VU9P based board like the 1525. 

I realize I'm probably out of luck, but if anyone has any ideas or pointers on how to use the board for Vitis, I'd love to hear it. My goal is to learn Vitis in my spare time since I'm primarily writing low level Verilog code.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted

HI @asicguy 

First it really depends exactly what you want to do.

You are saying that your goal is primarily writing low level Verilog code. So why do you even need Vitis?

Vitis is for SW developers. If you only look at low level Verilog code then you should use only Vivado.

Then if you want to use a processor, you can create a platform in Vivado and export it to Vitis to control it.

Same for acceleraton flow (which will use the XRT). You would need to create the platform (ie HW design) in Vivado with the XRT then export the platform to Vitis.

Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

My primary goal is to learn Vitis :)