cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
5,670 Views
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution
Hello, I've just installed the 2016.3 version of SDx. My issue now is that I don't have any platforms (the platform list is empty) when creating a new project. Any ideas? Thanks
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,359 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2007

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution

FlexLM requires ethernet network name to be eth0.  Please check the AR below for details. What network name is associated with the host ID for the license on your system?

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/60510.html

 


@bandit wrote:
Thanks for the answer. Regardless, something is still wrong. My host ID (given by ifconfig) matches the one displayed by vlm, but vlm also shows, in the next column: Host IDs Match = No. I'm truly confused. Any ideas?

 

Cheers,
Jim

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,656 Views
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

This is likely something related to your license.  Please refer to AR64005 https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/64005.html

 

Thanks,

Jon

Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,632 Views
Registered: ‎03-08-2016

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution

I assume that you are looking for SDAccel platforms as opposed to SDSoC platforms. SDAccel platforms are only available on Linux, and they require an SDAccel license (key ap_opencl). Could you please verify that you're running on Linux and that the SDx Log shows that the SDAccel license was found?

 

The SDx Log window is in the console area of the workbench. If the workbench is not visible because the Welcome page is displayed, click the X at the tab at the top of the Welcome page to close it and show the workbench.

 

Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
5,608 Views
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution

Right you are. I get the following:

 

xdlmcheck ap_sdsoc

License unavailable for ap_sdsoc, exiting

 

xdlmcheck ap_opencl

Validating feature ap_opencl

License unavailable for ap_opencl, exiting

 

But shouldn't platforms like the Zedboard be available regardless?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,585 Views
Registered: ‎03-08-2016

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution

Thanks for checking the licenses. All of the SDx platforms (including ZedBoard) are gated by the user's licenses. The build tools for the SDSoC and SDAccel flows require licenses, so without a license you wouldn't be able to build or run the SDx project.

Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
5,462 Views
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution
Thanks for the answer. Regardless, something is still wrong. My host ID (given by ifconfig) matches the one displayed by vlm, but vlm also shows, in the next column: Host IDs Match = No. I'm truly confused. Any ideas?
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,360 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2007

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution

FlexLM requires ethernet network name to be eth0.  Please check the AR below for details. What network name is associated with the host ID for the license on your system?

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/60510.html

 


@bandit wrote:
Thanks for the answer. Regardless, something is still wrong. My host ID (given by ifconfig) matches the one displayed by vlm, but vlm also shows, in the next column: Host IDs Match = No. I'm truly confused. Any ideas?

 

Cheers,
Jim

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
5,419 Views
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution
Hi there, You were right. That was it, renaming the interface to eth0 gives me my platforms. Thanks a lot.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
4,856 Views
Registered: ‎10-25-2016

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution

Hi, I have the same issue of missing platforms in SDx 2016.3. I have it installed on a virtual machine with CentOS 6.4 on VMware Workstation 12 Player. I have a wireless network connection to this via an 802.11n WLAN adaptor.

The FLEXID Dongle ID and C: Drive Serial Number are both listed as "not supported on this platform" in Vivado license manager, although the host id is present and is listed against Network Interface Card ID. 

Following is the results I obtain on the terminal after checking for the hostID -

 

$ ifconfig


lo                  Link encap:Local Loopback
                     inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
                     inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
                     UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
                     RX packets:8576 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
                     TX packets:8576 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
                     collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
                     RX bytes:956593 (934.1 KiB) TX bytes:956593 (934.1 KiB)

 

wlan1            Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:38:2E:3F:AC
                     inet addr:10.225.0.49 Bcast:10.225.1.255 Mask:255.255.254.0
                     inet6 addr: fe80::76da:38ff:fe2e:3fac/64 Scope:Link
                     UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
                     RX packets:216 errors:0 dropped:19 overruns:0 frame:0
                     TX packets:1098 errors:0 dropped:1 overruns:0 carrier:0
                     collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
                     RX bytes:52299 (51.0 KiB) TX bytes:99712 (97.3 KiB)


$ /sbin/ifconfig eth0
eth0: error fetching interface information: Device not found

 

Any ideas on what can be done?

 

Thanks!

vivado.PNG
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
4,841 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2007

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution

You may want to check with VMware support or forum on how to enable eth0 in their VMs. Once it's enabled, the license will work in SDx environment.

 

 

Cheers,
Jim
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,359 Views
Registered: ‎02-09-2017

Re: SDx 2016.3 Missing Platforms

Jump to solution

 

I have the similar issue. When I try to create a new project, there are no platforms available. I did check the platforms in xilinx SDx installation path, there are available.

 

I checked the network name is not eth0. How can I check whether it's the problem caused by ethernet network name ?

 

0 Kudos