cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
3,007 Views
Registered: ‎01-21-2020

Vitis doesn't start

Jump to solution

Hello,

I have recently switched from Vivado 2018.2 to Vivado 2019.2 and thus from the Xilinx SDK to Vitis as well. 

I am currently unable to start Vitis properly. Here is what I did:

 

1. I created a Vivado 2019.2 project, configured my hardware, synthesized and exported it.

2. I started Vitis. That worked great.

3. I deleted this first test project and created a new folder for my actual project (workspace).

4.  I created a Vivado 2019.2 project, configured my hardware, synthesized and exported it.

5. I pressed "Launch Vitis" under Tools in Vivado.

6. Vitis started and promptly crashed with this error log:

 

!SESSION 2020-02-11 18:14:52.175 -----------------------------------------------
eclipse.buildId=2019.2
java.version=9.0.4
java.vendor=Oracle Corporation
BootLoader constants: OS=win32, ARCH=x86_64, WS=win32, NL=de_DE
Command-line arguments:  -os win32 -ws win32 -arch x86_64

!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 4 0 2020-02-11 18:50:05.494
!MESSAGE Application error
!STACK 1
java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: -2147483643 > 5
	at java.base/java.util.Arrays.copyOfRange(Unknown Source)
	at java.base/java.util.Arrays.copyOfRange(Unknown Source)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.ide.ChooseWorkspaceDialog.lambda$6(ChooseWorkspaceDialog.java:384)
	at java.base/java.util.stream.ReferencePipeline$3$1.accept(Unknown Source)
	at java.base/java.util.ArrayList$ArrayListSpliterator.forEachRemaining(Unknown Source)
	at java.base/java.util.stream.AbstractPipeline.copyInto(Unknown Source)
	at java.base/java.util.stream.AbstractPipeline.wrapAndCopyInto(Unknown Source)
	at java.base/java.util.stream.ReduceOps$ReduceOp.evaluateSequential(Unknown Source)
	at java.base/java.util.stream.AbstractPipeline.evaluate(Unknown Source)
	at java.base/java.util.stream.ReferencePipeline.collect(Unknown Source)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.ide.ChooseWorkspaceDialog.createUniqueWorkspaceNameMap(ChooseWorkspaceDialog.java:388)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.ide.ChooseWorkspaceDialog.createRecentWorkspacesComposite(ChooseWorkspaceDialog.java:322)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.ide.ChooseWorkspaceDialog.createDialogArea(ChooseWorkspaceDialog.java:176)
	at com.xilinx.ide.application.ui.ide.ChooseWorkspaceWithRestoreDialog.createDialogArea(ChooseWorkspaceWithRestoreDialog.java:44)
	at org.eclipse.jface.dialogs.TitleAreaDialog.createContents(TitleAreaDialog.java:158)
	at org.eclipse.jface.window.Window.create(Window.java:426)
	at org.eclipse.jface.dialogs.Dialog.create(Dialog.java:1096)
	at org.eclipse.jface.window.Window.open(Window.java:783)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.ide.ChooseWorkspaceDialog.prompt(ChooseWorkspaceDialog.java:114)
	at com.xilinx.ide.application.ui.Application.promptForWorkspace(Application.java:270)
	at com.xilinx.ide.application.ui.Application.checkInstanceLocation(Application.java:186)
	at com.xilinx.ide.application.ui.Application.start(Application.java:72)
	at org.eclipse.equinox.internal.app.EclipseAppHandle.run(EclipseAppHandle.java:196)
	at org.eclipse.core.runtime.internal.adaptor.EclipseAppLauncher.runApplication(EclipseAppLauncher.java:134)
	at org.eclipse.core.runtime.internal.adaptor.EclipseAppLauncher.start(EclipseAppLauncher.java:104)
	at org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter.run(EclipseStarter.java:388)
	at org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter.run(EclipseStarter.java:243)
	at java.base/jdk.internal.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
	at java.base/jdk.internal.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
	at java.base/jdk.internal.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
	at java.base/java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
	at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.invokeFramework(Main.java:656)
	at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.basicRun(Main.java:592)
	at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.run(Main.java:1498)

 

7. I googled and found this post (https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Vitis-SDAccel-and-SDSoC/Vitis-won-t-start/td-p/1067654).

8. I started Vitis with (via the tcl console in Vivado)

vitis -workspace temp_workspace/ &

 which created the folder "C:\Users\MYUSERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Xilinx\Vivado\temp_workspace", but Vitis started correctly. (I also deleted IDE.log, .analytics, RemoteSystemsTempFiles/, as suggested)

9. I could access my actual workspace folder by opening Vitis in this temp_workspace folder and then using File > Switch Workspace

10. Consequently, I have tried 

vitis -workspace path/to/my/workspace/ &

but this simply resulted in Vitis opening in "C:\Users\MYUSERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Xilinx\Vivado\path\to\my\workspace", which is incorrect.

 

If I open Vitis via "Launch Vitis" it will crash, always with the same error log. In order to access my project the ONLY way I am left with is to open Vitis in a temporary workspace in AppData and then switch to the correct one via "Switch Workspace".
How can this be fixed? I realize that the problem probably occurs because I deleted a workspace, but this should not make Vitis this inaccessible to me. I could do with the possibility of opening Vitis directly in my workspace via the tcl console, but as I have pointed out in #10, my path is never interpreted correctly. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
pvempati
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,961 Views
Registered: ‎01-03-2017

HI @randomdefaultlenz ,

 

Try deleting the /home/<username>/.Xilinx/ and then try to launch the vitis

View solution in original post

4 Replies
satguy
Explorer
Explorer
2,974 Views
Registered: ‎04-19-2018

 

Was there something wrong with 2018.2?

Is your goal to develop something or just faff around with the latest tools?

 

0 Kudos
pvempati
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,962 Views
Registered: ‎01-03-2017

HI @randomdefaultlenz ,

 

Try deleting the /home/<username>/.Xilinx/ and then try to launch the vitis

View solution in original post

2,952 Views
Registered: ‎01-21-2020

Thank you so much, that did the trick!

lander85641
Visitor
Visitor
1,970 Views
Registered: ‎09-17-2020
Thanks for this. Had same problem on Windows 10 and deleting .Xilinx in c:\Users\<username>\ solved it.
0 Kudos