cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Which Xilinx products use for a custom IP and specific algorithm design?

Hi everyone. I have the VHDL and C++ knowledge at a good level but I am new to the Xilinx world. As you know there are so many Xilinx software products. Deciding what product should I use is really confusing for me because there are lots of interferences between them and sometimes I think they developed by rival companies to beat each other! 

Please correct me if I am wrong about the application of the following software products:

Xilinx Vivado: To develop hardware functions. (Design customized IPs)

Xilinx SDK: To develop software functions

Xilinx Vivado HLS: To develop hardware functions using a C-like programming language.

SDSoC: To develop software functions and hardware functions

All these products and their interferences in the functionality are really confusing for me. For example, I can use "Xilinx Vivado + Xilinx SDK" for a SW /HW codesign. But this can also be done in SDSoC as well. So which one I should use? I can use Vivado HLS to generate HW hardware functions; this can also be done in SDSoC. Which one should I use? Are there points which I am missing? Any advantages?

In my special case, I want to develop my customized IP and also my specific algorithm so I can implement them on a Xilinx board for a traffic analysis system with a camera.

Thanks for your help in advance!

2 Replies
Highlighted
Advisor
Advisor

@king32 Youare absolutely correct about all of the tools.