UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
2,027 Views
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Not able to see the compute unit utilization in kmeans sdaccel example.

Jump to solution

I am trying to run the sdaccel example of kmeans algorithm, which is provided in the below link

https://github.com/Xilinx/SDAccel_Examples/tree/master/acceleration/kmeans

 

I changed the below line in make file 

#Select the number of Compute units.
COMPUTE_UNITS:=6

 

it compiles successfully.

 

 i am running hardware emulation and my command is as follows 

./host_kmeans -i ./data/100 -c ./data/100.gold_c5 -m 5 -n 5 -g 6

 

It runs also fine. But when i look at the sdaccel_profile_summary.html, below is the output.

 

Compute Unit Utilization (includes estimated device times)

Device Compute Unit Kernel Global Work Size Local Work Size Number Of Calls Total Time (ms) Minimum Time (ms) Average Time (ms) Maximum Time (ms)
xilinx:xil-accel-rd-ku115:4ddr-xpr:4.0-0 kmeans_1 kmeans 6:1:1 1:1:1 48 1.08953 0.022677 0.0226986 0.023048

 

It does not show up the 6 compute units utilized here, which i configured in my make file.

 

Please help me in getting this example to run with more compute units ASAP.

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,952 Views
Registered: ‎07-18-2014

Re: Not able to see the compute unit utilization in kmeans sdaccel example.

Jump to solution

Thanks for reporting this issue. This is a bug in Makefile. Please find attached the updated one.

 

Correct value should be as below: 

kmeans_LDCLFLAGS=--nk kmeans:$(COMPUTE_UNITS)

 

 

Can you try the same?

 

-Heera

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
1,958 Views
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Re: Not able to see the compute unit utilization in kmeans sdaccel example.

Jump to solution

Hi all,

 

Please help me with this.. I am struck...

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Regards,

Vinod

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,953 Views
Registered: ‎07-18-2014

Re: Not able to see the compute unit utilization in kmeans sdaccel example.

Jump to solution

Thanks for reporting this issue. This is a bug in Makefile. Please find attached the updated one.

 

Correct value should be as below: 

kmeans_LDCLFLAGS=--nk kmeans:$(COMPUTE_UNITS)

 

 

Can you try the same?

 

-Heera

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
1,922 Views
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Re: Not able to see the compute unit utilization in kmeans sdaccel example.

Jump to solution

Hi 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 kernel_frequency compute units kernel execution time
default 1 117.296 ms
100 6 112.563 ms

 

 

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,900 Views
Registered: ‎08-28-2007

Re: Not able to see the compute unit utilization in kmeans sdaccel example.

Jump to solution

Hello,

 

The default frequency for kernel depends on the target platform. The platform developer fixes it to a particular value. It is typically 200 or 250Mhz. So, by running the kernel at 100MHz, you are potentially losing half the performance (assuming the computation is not memory bound). One needs to balance kernel frequency when increasing number of compute units.

 

Amit

0 Kudos