Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
marrud
Visitor
Visitor

All dynamic power removed when using SAIF file for power report

Greetings,

I am looking into various design possibilities for creating a low power SPI master to see what design choices who affects the power consumption in the system. To look into this, I have a SPI master and slave in verilog and have made a testbench in Vivado where I simulate some typical behavior. This is a rather small testbench where I only sent 2 bytes of data between the devices.

The issue I am having is with the power report. I am using the implemented design of the master together with SAIF files generated both from behavioral and post-implementation timing/functional simulation to generate the report. The more of the systems behavior I constrain, the less dynamical power consumption I get. So with the power report with the behavioral SAIF, I get 59% dynamic power, but with the SAIF from the post-implementation simulations, I get ~7% dyn power. When applying a clock constrain the dyn power drops to <1%. 

Since my project is the reduce the dynamical power in the design, it is a problem if the report say that it barely is any dyn power at all even before I have made modifications. I therefore wonder if these results I see are normal behavior or if I have done something wrong. Since this is a part of a master thesis I am still quite new to this type of work and Vivado, so if there is some better ways of checking the power consumption of a design based on the data in the system, I would be very grateful for some tips. The desired result is to be able to find the required energy per transmitted bit for the different designs.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
tenzinc