cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ugarro
Visitor
Visitor
3,100 Views
Registered: ‎05-06-2018

Real radix missing in Vivado 2018.1 Hardware Manager

In 2017.2 I used to be able to set the radix of ILA probes to "Real", in order to debug fixed point values. Now, I migrated to 2018.1 and the dialog to configure it seems to be no more there. Am I missing something, or the feature is gone in Vivado 2018.1? 

 

I'm using Vivado 2018.1 under Ubuntu 16.04.4

0 Kudos
12 Replies
jmcclusk
Mentor
Mentor
3,076 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2014

It's still there..    It's certainly documented in the latest version of UG908.

 

radix.png

Don't forget to close a thread when possible by accepting a post as a solution.
0 Kudos
ugarro
Visitor
Visitor
3,036 Views
Registered: ‎05-06-2018

I saw it in the manual, but it is not accessible anymore. It used to be in this dialog afaict.

 

 

Screenshot_20180511_081347.png

0 Kudos
jmcclusk
Mentor
Mentor
3,015 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2014

I can confirm that it seems to be missing.  I just upgraded from 2017.4 to 2018.1, and the real radix and fixed point radix configuration dialog has vanished.  I can't say where it went.

Don't forget to close a thread when possible by accepting a post as a solution.
0 Kudos
dla87
Visitor
Visitor
2,667 Views
Registered: ‎11-27-2017

I can confirm it is still missing in Vivado 2018.2 on Windows 10. Any chance we get the option back at one point or that there is a workaround available for that?
0 Kudos
marko_vulovic
Visitor
Visitor
2,504 Views
Registered: ‎09-20-2017

This is an issue for us as well. Not having access to the real data type substantially reduces our debug efficiency.

0 Kudos
anunesgu
Moderator
Moderator
2,494 Views
Registered: ‎02-09-2017

Hi all,

 

I verified it internally and the Real Radix was originally (and still is) a feature supported in simulator. When ported to the hw_manager it was causing issues with the application and therefore it has been deactivated starting in 2018.1. 

 

The team has been working on rebuilding that feature, but since it was not ready for the 2018.1 and 2018.2 releases, the option was removed.

 

I apologize for the frustrations it may be causing to our customers. I will forward this thread to the appropriate team to reinforce this is a feature that our customers have been using and should be made available as soon as possible.

 

Thanks!

Andre Guerrero

Product Applications Engineer

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
marko_vulovic
Visitor
Visitor
2,464 Views
Registered: ‎09-20-2017

Thanks, anunesgu. Please update this thread with the release in which it is expected to be re-introduced.
0 Kudos
marko_vulovic
Visitor
Visitor
2,187 Views
Registered: ‎09-20-2017

Any update on this @anunesgu?  Thanks.

0 Kudos
anunesgu
Moderator
Moderator
2,181 Views
Registered: ‎02-09-2017

Hi @marko_vulovic,

 

On 20/Sep/2018 I created an internal Change Request (CR) to have this issue analyzed and have the feature re-implemented in the next Vivado versions.

 

I also brought it to the attention of the Dev team and they are working on it. Unfortunately I still do not have an information in terms of when it will be finally done and available.

 

I'll make sure to ping them again now. Also fell free to ask your FAE to regularly ask me about it or to directly check the status of the CR.

 

Thank you!

 

Andre Guerrero

Product Applications Engineer

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
jsusongc4s
Newbie
Newbie
1,892 Views
Registered: ‎05-18-2018

Try exporting the ILA data and then importing the data into Vivado 2017.4 as a work around.

0 Kudos
tkar
Observer
Observer
999 Views
Registered: ‎09-28-2017

Still missing in 2020

0 Kudos
623 Views
Registered: ‎11-30-2019

Xilinx, what's up?

Was totally surprised this kind of basic feature missing, which I have been using in older versions. Also reflects that data export from ILA to CSV etc not possible directly because of missing data conversion to proper units =|

0 Kudos