UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Explorer
Explorer
13,270 Views
Registered: ‎02-05-2008

VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution
Hi,

I am trying to use vivado logic analyzer (2014.4). But the waveform window does not show up. I am using ubuntu 64bit.

Jothi
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Explorer
Explorer
22,003 Views
Registered: ‎02-05-2008

Re: VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Yes. It did. When I reduce the freq to 3MHz. Can you explain why?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,269 Views
Registered: ‎02-14-2014

Re: VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution
Hi Jothi,

Are you getting any error message or warning ? If yes please post it here.
Regards,
Ashish
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,263 Views
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution
Hello Jothi,

Is the simulation waveform windows in invoked when running simulation in Vivado 2014.4?

Check this since the same waveform window is being used by Vivado Logic Analyzer.

Also check Vivado.log for any informational messages (Vivado GUI --> File --> Open Log file)

Thanks,
Vinay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
13,246 Views
Registered: ‎02-05-2008

Re: VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution

Hi Vinay,

 

1. no error messges shown

2. waveform windows seen in simulation

3. This is the part of log file

 

open_hw
INFO: [Labtools 27-2285] Connecting to hw_server url TCP:localhost:3121
connect_hw_server -url localhost:3121
INFO: [Labtools 27-2285] Connecting to hw_server url TCP:localhost:3121
current_hw_target [get_hw_targets */xilinx_tcf/Xilinx/000014d2786201]
set_property PARAM.FREQUENCY 6000000 [get_hw_targets */xilinx_tcf/Xilinx/000014d2786201]
open_hw_target
INFO: [Labtoolstcl 44-466] Opening hw_target localhost:3121/xilinx_tcf/Xilinx/000014d2786201
set_property PROGRAM.FILE {/home/adithya/xilinx/Workspace_2014.3/hdmi_3/hdmi_3.runs/impl_1/tutorial_wrapper.bit} [lindex [get_hw_devices] 1]
set_property PROBES.FILE {/home/adithya/xilinx/Workspace_2014.3/hdmi_3/hdmi_3.runs/impl_1/debug_nets.ltx} [lindex [get_hw_devices] 1]
current_hw_device [lindex [get_hw_devices] 1]
refresh_hw_device [lindex [get_hw_devices] 1]
INFO: [Labtools 27-2302] Device xc7z010 (JTAG device index = 1) is programmed with a design that has 1 ILA core(s).
run_hw_ila hw_ila_1
INFO: [Labtools 27-1964] The ILA core 'hw_ila_1' trigger was armed at 2014-Nov-27 11:09:06
run_hw_ila hw_ila_1 -trigger_now
INFO: [Labtools 27-1964] The ILA core 'hw_ila_1' trigger was armed at 2014-Nov-27 11:09:18
run_hw_ila hw_ila_1 -trigger_now
INFO: [Labtools 27-1964] The ILA core 'hw_ila_1' trigger was armed at 2014-Nov-27 11:10:12

 

 

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,226 Views
Registered: ‎09-20-2012

Re: VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

From the log I see that ILA core is armed. It looks like it's waiting for trigger condition to happen. 

 

Can you try "run trigger immediate"? This should capture and display the data irrespective of trigger conditions.

 

Thanks,

Deepika.

Thanks,
Deepika.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (the star on the left)
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
13,221 Views
Registered: ‎02-05-2008

Re: VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

I tried run immediate also. The waveform window does not show up

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
13,219 Views
Registered: ‎02-05-2008

Re: VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution
Hi,

This is the log

INFO: [Labtools 27-2302] Device xc7z010 (JTAG device index = 1) is programmed with a design that has 1 ILA core(s).
run_hw_ila hw_ila_1 -trigger_now
INFO: [Labtools 27-1964] The ILA core 'hw_ila_1' trigger was armed at 2014-Nov-27 14:15:20
run_hw_ila hw_ila_1
INFO: [Labtools 27-1964] The ILA core 'hw_ila_1' trigger was armed at 2014-Nov-27 14:15:31
run_hw_ila hw_ila_1 -trigger_now
INFO: [Labtools 27-1964] The ILA core 'hw_ila_1' trigger was armed at 2014-Nov-27 14:15:38
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,212 Views
Registered: ‎09-20-2012

Re: VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution

Hi ,

 

Can you reduce the JTAG cable frequency and see if it helps?

 

Thanks,

Deepika.

Thanks,
Deepika.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (the star on the left)
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
22,004 Views
Registered: ‎02-05-2008

Re: VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Yes. It did. When I reduce the freq to 3MHz. Can you explain why?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,182 Views
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: VIvado logic analyzer waveform window does not show up in 2014.4

Jump to solution

Hello @jothiadithya 

 

This answer record answers your query: http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/57934.html

 

Thanks,

Vinay

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
0 Kudos