cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
12,482 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Vivado 2014.2: [Chipscope 16-119] Implementing debug core dbg_hub failed. Error: An unknown error has occured during implementing debug cores

Jump to solution

Hi All - During implementation of the design with ILA core netlist insertion, I ran into this "unknown error". I am not sure how to go about resolving this issue, since it is unknown. Any ideas or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

 

Opt Design:

[Chipscope 16-119] Implementing debug core dbg_hub failed.

ERROR: An unknown error has occured while implementing debug cores in this design.

 

Thank you!

 

Howard

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
20,787 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Many thanks Vinay and Vijay both for your ideas and suggestions, I had resolved the issue.

 

With the initial problem of long path directory under window, I copied the design folder another folder under C to make the directory path shorter. In stead of copying the design folder, I should have  File --> Archive Project.  By Archive Project, the "unknown error" has gone away.

 

Thanks,

Howard

 

 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,481 Views
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Hi Howard,

 

If you are using windows, reduce the directory path length and give a try.

 

 

Thanks,

Vinay

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,477 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Hi,
Are you using supported OS? Please try recreating the project.
Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
12,471 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Hi Vinay and Vijay:

 

Thank you for your feedback.

 

I am using window 8, and initially I had the problem of a directory path length, as Vinay has suggested. I then copy the project to a different folder right under C directory, to make the path shorter. I then ran into this "unknown error".

 

If nothing else, I will try Vijay's suggestion of creating a new project.

 

Thanks,

Howard

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,462 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Hi,

 

The issue may occur if the Debug Hub in cache is out-of-sync and needs to be cleared with the following command.

 

update_ip_catalog clear_ip_cache

 

Can you try running the above command and check whether it helps?

 

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
20,788 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Many thanks Vinay and Vijay both for your ideas and suggestions, I had resolved the issue.

 

With the initial problem of long path directory under window, I copied the design folder another folder under C to make the directory path shorter. In stead of copying the design folder, I should have  File --> Archive Project.  By Archive Project, the "unknown error" has gone away.

 

Thanks,

Howard

 

 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,447 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Hi,
Thanks for sharing the solution. Please mark your post as solution in the interest of other users.
Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
12,432 Views
Registered: ‎10-28-2010

Is this a valid command? It fails to run at my end.

update_ip_catalog clear_ip_cache

 

Also regarding the failure above with "unknown error", using all the suggested solution above did not help. The problem got resolved when I added the header file "`include "cs_ver_inc.v"" to the top level design. 

0 Kudos