UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant cogansco
Participant

Problem with simple CIC filter in C / HLS

I'm just learning HLS, though I know C and VHDL for quite a while.  I'm trying to implement a simple boxcar average filter, essentially just running sum of the previous N points.   This involves keeping an accumulator (acc1) updated each clock cycle by adding the latest value and subtracting the value from N clocks previously.  The fifo1 stores the history of N din values.

I can't seem to get it working.  The clostest I've gotten so far is the code below, which always returns the input value + 1. (I added a +1 just to make sure the output wasn't exactly the same as the input).  In ISim simulation of the vhdl generated, I noticed that acc1 is always zero, which would explain why always dout = din + 1.

In C, by making the static assignment to acc1, it should initialize to zero ONLY on first run -- this should be translated into a power-up initialization.  But it appears to be reset to zero each time through the loop.  I also tried pulling acc1 out and making it a global variable.  In this case, I got the message:

[RTGEN-101] Register 'acc1' is power-on initialization.

That's great, but in simulation the result is same as before.  What am I doing wrong?

#include "ap_cint.h"

#define CIC1_LEN 13

// CIC Filter - Running boxcar average
void cic35x13x(int24 * din, int32 * dout)
{
#pragma HLS INTERFACE ap_fifo port=din
#pragma HLS INTERFACE ap_fifo port=dout

static int32 fifo1[CIC1_LEN] = {0};
	static int32 acc1 = 0;
	int24 din_val;
	int i;

#pragma HLS PIPELINE II=1

din_val = *(din);
		acc1 = acc1 + din_val - fifo1[0];