UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Explorer
Explorer

When do I need to use HLS?

Jump to solution

I am a FPGA designer who is good at Verilog and VHDL. I am interested in learning to use Vivado HLS. 

But before I start, I think it is better to determine whether I need to learn it or not. I hope anyone has experience in Vivado HLS can discuss here like:

1. What kind of design you perfer to use HLS rather than HDL to do design?

2. What is your background? Like Software, hardware, RTL designer?

3. What is advantage that HLS over HDL ?

Thanks at advance. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Teacher muzaffer
Teacher

Re: When do I need to use HLS?

Jump to solution

I think the correct analogy is RTL is similar to a macro assembler and HLS is C/C++.

You should learn how to use HLS (assuming you know C/C++ already) if you find yourself designing simulation models in C/C++ while doing algorithm development and then converting them to RTL manually.

This mostly happens if you develop DSP (filters, video processing etc. ) code and you either design the algorithm yourself in C/C++ or are given the golden C/C++ model.

If your work mainly involves shuffling bits in/out and doing mostly control path work, HLS may not be that useful. If the starting point of your current work is not C/C++, HLS may not be useful.
If you prototype in C/C++, then convert to RTL then HLS is extremely useful. If you value your time and productivity HLS is useful.
If someone tells you that they can generate RTL manually better than any HLS tool (or you tell this to yourself), remember that we used to code in assembler, drew schematics for logic etc.