UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,040 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

axis_switch and write_bd_tcl

I'm using Vivado 2017.1 (due to a customer requirement) and I'm also using write_bd_tcl to save my block design for version control purposes. The block design contains this component:

 

  # Create instance: axis_switch_0, and set properties
  set axis_switch_0 [ create_bd_cell -type ip -vlnv xilinx.com:ip:axis_switch:1.1 axis_switch_0 ]
  set_property -dict [ list \
CONFIG.ARB_ON_MAX_XFERS {0} \
CONFIG.ARB_ON_TLAST {1} \
CONFIG.M00_AXIS_HIGHTDEST {0x00000003} \
CONFIG.NUM_SI {3} \
 ] $axis_switch_0

The snippet above is from the TCL file written out by write_bd_tcl after the block design was successfully validated.

When I try to source the TCL file, I get this error:

ERROR: [IP_Flow 19-3458] Validation failed for parameter 'Arbitrate on maximum number of transfers(ARB_ON_MAX_XFERS)' for BD Cell 'vid_out_mux/axis_switch_0'. Value '0' is out of the range (1,1024)

What is going on?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
990 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: axis_switch and write_bd_tcl

Hi @vertreko,

You need to be aware of the first lines of the generated TCL files:

 

################################################################
# This is a generated script based on design: *
#
# Though there are limitations about the generated script,
# the main purpose of this utility is to make learning
# IP Integrator Tcl commands easier.
################################################################

There are limitations. Even more if you are using an old version.

 

I would recommend you to move to 2018.2. I cannot reproduce the issue.

Else, just change the Value of ARB_ON_MAX_XFERS in the generated TCL file.

Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
978 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Re: axis_switch and write_bd_tcl

Hi @florentw, thanks for taking an interest.

I've been using write_bd_tcl for years to create block designs in a script flow, and it was mentioned at this year's XDF as a good way to do revision control.

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
961 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: axis_switch and write_bd_tcl

Hi @vertreko,

I am also using it a lot. But you just be aware that sometimes it does not contains all the information you want. You cross check (by rebuilding the design) before uploading it to your git (or other revision control system).

Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
949 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Re: axis_switch and write_bd_tcl

Yes I usually do a test build before committing to revision control. This is the first instance I've found where it is impossible to create a .tcl file that will regenerate the block design. The problem, I believe, is the order in which the CONFIG parameters are applied. When you are editing the switch in the block design GUI it will not let you set ARB_ON_MAX_XFERS to 0 UNTIL you've set ARB_ON_TLAST to 1. But the .tcl file applies these parameters in no particular order, and in this case the order is not correct.

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
916 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: axis_switch and write_bd_tcl

HI @vertreko,

As mentioned, I cannot see this issue in 2018.2. I would recommend you to move to the latest version.

Regards,


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Visitor david91
Visitor
152 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2018

Re: axis_switch and write_bd_tcl

Hello,

i had the same error (Vivado 2018.2) and found a solution that works for me.

When i change the "Enable TLAST" option from auto to manual YES in the customize IP window, the error doesnt come up when generating the block design with tcl.

Kind regards