cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ronnywebers
Advisor
Advisor

how to detect wether an IP is already instantiated or not during the creation of a design using tcl?

Jump to solution

I use different tcl (sub)scripts to create a project and bd.

For example I have a subscript that creates/instantiates the Zynq MPSoC IP on the bd, and then applies a saved configuration to it (preset)

I have 2 situations with my scripts:

* situation 1 : there is no / not yet a Zynq UltraScale+ MPSoC IP present in the bd, so the script needs to add the MPSoC IP to the bd (create cell ...), and then apply the preset / configuration

* situation 2 : at the point where my subscript kicks in, there is already a Zynq MPSoC IP present in the bd (and I cannot put 2 of them on the BD of course), so I should not add the IP (skipp the create cell ...), but just apply the MPSoC preset

Q1: how can I detect the presence of the MPSoC IP (or more general, of 'any' IP)?

So in pseudo code something like :

if (MPSoC IP) != present_in_bd:
   create_bd_cell -type ip -vlnv xilinx.com:ip:zynq_ultra_ps_e:3.2 zynq_ultra_ps_e_0

config_mpsoc_ip with preset.tcl

image.png

** kudo if the answer was helpful. Accept as solution if your question is answered **
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
florentw

HI @ronnywebers 

As mentioned by @amaccre , I guess one way to go is to use the get_ips command and check the length of the string array returned

Based on the other topic for the config of the ZynqMP:

source ./zynqMP_config.tcl
[...]
if {[llength [get_ips -quiet *zynq_ultra*]] != 1} {
	create_bd_cell -type ip -vlnv xilinx.com:ip:zynq_ultra_ps_e:3.3 zynq_ultra_ps_e_0
}
set_property -dict [concat [apply_preset [get_bd_cells zynq_ultra_ps_e_0]]] [get_bd_cells zynq_ultra_ps_e_0]

Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

6 Replies
amaccre